Watch- Ajinkya Rahane's 6 to Yash Dayal draws orgasmic reaction from Ian Bishop and Kevin Pietersen

Published - 23 Mar 2024, 01:03 PM

Ajinkya Rahane Yash Dayal
Ajinkya Rahane Yash Dayal. Image Credits: Twitter

Former cricketers Ian Bishop and Kevin Pietersen were in awe of Ajinkya Rahane’s shot during the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 opener match. Both Ian Bishop and Kevin Pietersen lauded Ajinkya Rahane for his ability to dominate the bowlers with his batting.

The Chennai Super Kings secured a six-wicket win over the Royal Challengers Bengaluru at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Friday, March 22. Left-arm pacer Mustafizur Rahman was named ‘Player of the Match’ for his outstanding bowling performance.

Watch – Ajinkya Rahane’s Elegant Shot Left Ian Bishop, Kevin Pietersen In Awe

The incident occurred on the third ball in the final over of the powerplay during the Chennai Super Kings’ run chase. Ajinkya Rahane elegantly smashed left-arm pacer Yash Dayal for six, rebounding after being beaten twice in the over.

Rahane displayed remarkable timing and technique, effortlessly driving a back-of-length delivery from Yash Dayal over mid-off for a six. The veteran batter capitalized on the delivery’s trajectory, sending it soaring into the stands at long-off with precision.

Ian Bishop praised the shot for its aggression, while Kevin Pietersen commended its display of skill and termed it a fabulous cricket shot. Pietersen also noted the batter’s fearlessness while hitting boundaries in modern-day cricket.

“That is a top shot. It really is. An example of his aggression,” Bishop said.

“An example of his ability too. This is a fabulous cricket shot, my goodness. Just short of a length it, beaten him all ends up the previous delivery and bang, have a look at that. These batters, they’re not scared. Are they? They don’t care about the boundaries anymore,” Pietersen said.

Ajinkya Rahane Scored 27 Runs In CSK’s First Win in IPL 2024

The RCB skipper chose to bat after winning the toss. Faf du Plessis played aggressively, scoring 35 runs off 23 balls with eight boundaries. However, Mustafizur Rahman provided a breakthrough for his team by dismissing the RCB skipper in his first over.

Following his dismissal, Rajat Patidar and Glenn Maxwell were dismissed for ducks. However, after their dismissals, Virat Kohli (21) and Cameron Green (18) stabilized the innings by adding 35 runs. Mustafizur dismissed both batsmen during his second over.

Anuj Rawat contributed 48 runs, while Dinesh Karthik remained unbeaten with 38 runs, crucially boosting their team’s total to 173/6 in 20 overs. Mustafizur took four wickets for 29 runs in four overs. Deepak Chahar claimed a wicket, conceding 37 runs in his four overs.

Ruturaj Gaikwad (15) departed early, but Rachin Ravindra played an aggressive innings of 37 runs off 15 balls, including three fours and as many sixes. Ajinkya Rahane (27) and Daryl Mitchell (22) played pivotal roles in the chase. Shivam Dube (34*) and Ravindra Jadeja (25*) guided the team to victory with eight balls remaining.

Chennai Super Kings: Ruturaj Gaikwad(c), Rachin Ravindra, Ajinkya Rahane, Daryl Mitchell, Ravindra Jadeja, Sameer Rizvi, MS Dhoni(w), Deepak Chahar, Maheesh Theekshana, Mustafizur Rahman, Tushar Deshpande

Royal Challengers Bengaluru: Faf du Plessis(c), Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, Dinesh Karthik(w), Anuj Rawat, Karn Sharma, Alzarri Joseph, Mayank Dagar, Mohammed Siraj

Also read: Watch: Glenn Maxwell takes a stunner at boundary ropes to dismiss Ajinkya Rahane in IPL 2024 opener


Ajinkya Rahane Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Indian Premier League (IPL) IPL 2024 Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) Yash Dayal