SL vs AUS: Sri Lanka Announce 18-member Squad For 2-match Test Series vs Australia

Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh Test
Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh Test (Credits: Twitter)

On Saturday, June 25 Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announced an 18-member Sri Lanka National Cricket Team squad for the upcoming two-match Test series against Australia National Cricket Team.

The two-match Test series between Sri Lanka and Australia, which is part of the ICC World Test Championship 2021-23 cycle, will begin on 29 June at the Galle International Cricket Stadium.

ICC Teams  Rankings | ICC Players Rankings

Sri Lanka vs Australia 2022
Photo Credit: (Twitter)

The second Test match will be played from July 8 to July 12 at the Galle International Cricket Stadium. Currently, Australia are at the No.1 spot on the ICC World Test Championship 2021-23 points table and Sri Lanka are at the 4th position.

The Sri Lanka Test squad, which will be led by Dimuth Karunaratne, has seen the inclusion of spinner Jeffrey Vandersay after his brilliant performance in the five-match ODI series against Australia, where Sri Lanka won by 3-2.

Also, the series win of Sri Lanka over Australia is the first time in 30 years that Sri Lanka have won an ODI series against Australia at home. They last won an ODI series at home against Australia in 1992.

Sri Lanka vs Australia (Image Credits: Twitter)
Sri Lanka vs Australia (Image Credits: Twitter)

Other than Vandersay, Sri Lanka have Praveen Jayawickrama, Lasith Embuldeniya and Ramesh Mendis as spin bowling options in the squad.

Also, other ODI players who have found themselves in the Test squad are Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Chamika Karunaratne, Dhananjaya de Silva and Niroshan Dickwella.

Meanwhile, veteran players Angelo Mathews and Dinesh Chandimal have been included in the squad and pacers Asitha Fernando and Vishwa Fernando have retained their spots. However, Kamil Mishara, Kamindu Mendis and Suminda Lakshan have not been included in the squad.

Bangladesh Vs West Indies (Image Credits: Twitter)
Bangladesh Vs West Indies (Image Credits: Twitter)

Sri Lanka Squad For Test Series vs Australia:

Dimuth Karunaratne (Captain), Pathum Nissanka, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella ( WK), Dinesh Chandimal ( WK), Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lasith Embuldeniya, Jeffrey Vandersay. Standby Players: Dunith Wellalage, Lakshitha Rasanjana

Complete SL vs AUS Test Series Schedule:

29 June – 3 July: First Test, Galle

8-12 July: Second Test, Galle

Also Read: SL vs AUS: The Support That They Provide Is Second To None – Aaron Finch On Sri Lankan Fans

Get All Cricket match prediction and fantasy Tips – CLICK HERE

Cricket Match Prediction | T20 World Cup Match Prediction | Today Match Fantasy Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket News and Updates | Cricket Live Score

Related Posts