New Zealand
Image Source: Twitter

New Zealand‘s Test stars are likely to miss the three-match ODI series and a one-off T20I that begins later this month due to the MIQ standards. The Australia series is slated to begin from January 30 and will take place till February 8.

However, the first of the two Tests against South Africa will be beginning at Christchurch on February 17. The isolation period for travellers coming to New Zealand is currently 10 days. So by that logic, if a full-strength New Zealand squad plays against Australia, the Test stars will not be able to return on time for the first Test against South Africa.

New Zealand
Image Source: Twitter

From the current XI that is playing Bangladesh in the first Test, the players that are likely to miss out are Tom Latham, Devon Conway, Henry Nicholls, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee and Trent Boult.

New Zealand will be without the services of Kane Williamson

Kane Williamson
Kane Williamson. Image-AFP

New Zealand will already be missing Kane Williamson who is still nursing his elbow injury and has already missed the Test series against Bangladesh. The problem of quarantine in Australia and coming back is what made Ross Taylor’s decision of retirement from the game much easier. Here’s what he had to say:

“The Australian series is really close and with quarantine and coming back, it’s probably going to be one side that goes to Australia and the test side will stay behind.”

“That’s what made the decision a lot easier. It would have been nice to play against South Africa, but Australia’s a place I’ve always enjoyed… and finishing my career playing one-day cricket which is probably my best format,” he added.

New Zealand will still be hopeful of putting together a strong side that will travel to Australia for the series despite a number of Test stars missing.

Also Read: Ravi Shastri Recalls How He Planned Jasprit Bumrah’s Test Debut In South Africa