5 Indian Cricketers, Only 1 Pakistan Player!! T20I Team Of The Year 2023

Published - 27 Dec 2023, 05:47 PM

Suryakumar Yadav in a T20I match against Australia
Suryakumar Yadav (Credits: Twitter)

ICC T20I World Cup 2024 is set to take place next year. Although 2023 focussed on ODI cricket more due to ICC World Cup 2023, many exciting T20I games took place this year. Teams like Namibia and Uganda booked their spots for the T20I World Cup with their impeccable performance in qualifiers.

West Indies crushing India in a five-match T20I series was an astonishing moment with India considered a dominant side in the shortest format. Bangladesh crushing World Champions England 3-0 at home was another shocking moment. In this article, we discuss the T20I team of the year.

T20I Team Of The Year 2023

Jonny Bairstow (WK)

Jonny Bairstow
Jonny Bairstow (Image Credit: Twitter)

For the wicketkeeper and opener, Jonny Bairstow takes a spot in the T20I team of 2023. The right-handed batter played just 4 games in 2023. However, the England batter shammed 175 runs across those matches, hitting half-centuries in two games. At an average of 58+, Bairstow also slammed an unbeaten 86 runs in one match.

Also Read: IND vs SA: Watch – KL Rahul Receives Standing Ovation From Virat Kohli & Others After Hitting Hundred

Ruturaj Gaikwad

Ruturaj Gaikwad
Ruturaj Gaikwad (Image Credit: Twitter)

Another opener who should be part of this team is Ruturaj Gaikwad. Across 10 games in the shortest format, the right-handed batsman slammed 365 runs with 1 century and 2 half-centuries. Gaikwad held a stunning average of 60.83, unbeaten in 3 innings out of 9. He also held a high strike rate of 147+.

Suryakumar Yadav (C)

Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav (Image Credit: Twitter)

Suryakumar Yadav is the one-down batsman and skipper of the T20I team of the year 2023. Yadav finished as the leading run-getter for India in 2023. At a stunning average of 48+, Yadav smacked 733 runs across 18 matches. The right-handed batsman slammed 5 fifties and 2 centuries at a superb strike rate of 155+.

Aiden Markram

Aiden Markram
Aiden Markram (Credits: Twitter)

Aiden Markram was a superb batter for South Africa in T20Is this year. The South Africa skipper hit 239 runs across 8 games averaging 39+. He held a strike rate of 162+ and scored many crucial knocks for his team. With his stunning show, he also got the T20I captaincy.

Also Read: Phil Salt Reaches Career-Best T20I Rating After Record Tons Against West Indies

Rovman Powell

Rovman Powell
Rovman Powell (Credits: Twitter)

West Indies skipper Rovman Powell is another addition to this list. He played 13 matches this year and scored 324 runs at an average of 36. The right-handed batsman also slammed 1 fifty and held a strike rate of 170+ while batting.

Rinku Singh

Rinku Singh, India
Rinku Singh (Credits: Twitter)

2023 was a fantastic year for Indian player Rinku Singh, who not only grabbed a lot of limelight in the Indian Premier League but also made his international debut for India. The left-handed batsman featured in 12 matches post his debut.

He slammed 262 runs in 8 innings. Notably, Rinku was not out in 4 matches and held a strike rate of 180+ while batting. He also shattered 1 fifty.

Mark Chapman

Mark Chapman
Mark Chapman (Credits: Getty Images)

For New Zealand, Mark Chapman was the most successful batter in the shortest format in 2023. The left-handed batsman played 19 games and mustered 575 runs averaging 47.91. Chapman shattered 1 century and 4 half-centuries at a superb strike rate of 143+.

Also Read: IND vs AFG: Hardik Pandya Ruled Out Of The Afghanistan Series, Will Play No Cricket Till IPL 2024

Ravi Bishnoi

Ravi Bishnoi, India
Ravi Bishnoi (Credits: Twitter)

Ravi Bishnoi continued his T20I dominance for India this year too. The right-arm spinner grabbed 18 scalps across 11 games at an average of 17.61. The leg spinner held an economy of just 7.20. In the T20I series against Australia in November, Bishnoi won the player of the series award.

Arshdeep Singh

Arshdeep Singh
Arshdeep Singh (Credits: Twitter)

Arshdeep Singh is another Indian bowler who gave a marvelous performance this year. The left-arm pacer hunted 26 wickets across 21 games and finished as the leading wicket-taker for India. He held an average of 24.46 and leaked runs at an economy of 9.26. The left-armer helped India to win many games with his lethal pace attack.

Taskin Ahmed

Taskin Ahmed
Taskin Ahmed (Photo: Twitter)

Taskin Ahmed ended up as the most successful bowler for Bangladesh in 2023. The right-arm pacer picked 16 scalps in 8 games at an economy of just 7.36. He was among the top wicket-takers in the shortest format this year among Test-playing nations. Ahmed owns a superb bowling average of 13.81 this year.

Also Read: IPL 2024: BCCI Restricts Betting Companies And Chinese Brands From Title Sponsorship – Reports

Haris Rauf

Haris Rauf
Haris Rauf (Credits: Twitter.)

With 13 scalps in just 5 games this year, Haris Rauf is another player who gets a spot in this team. Rauf finished as the highest wicket-taker for Pakistan this year. He grabbed two 4-wicket hauls at an average of 13.63. Rauf held an economy of just 7.75 across 5 matches, which is a brilliant stat for any bowler in the shortest format.