Abhishek Sharma, Riyan Parag, Harshit Rana and these 4 IPL stars to make India debut vs this team

Published - 19 Jun 2024, 10:51 AM | Updated - 19 Jun 2024, 11:25 AM

Abhishek Sharma and Riyan Parag
Abhishek Sharma and Riyan Parag (Image Credits: Twitter)

The India national cricket team will tour Zimbabwe for a five-match T20I series after the ICC T20 World Cup 2024, as confirmed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 performers are set to earn maiden call-ups from the national team for the upcoming Zimbabwe tour.

The Men in Blue will play all five T20I matches against Zimbabwe in Harare from July 6 to July 14. The squad announcement is expected next week, as reported by PTI. This series might be the first assignment for the new head coach of the Indian team. It offers young players an opportunity to showcase their talent.

Abhishek Sharma, Riyan Parag, Harshit Rana Set For India Debut In Zimbabwe

Several young players, like Riyan Parag, Mayank Yadav, Abhishek Sharma, and Nitish Reddy, are likely to be included in the Indian squad for the upcoming T20I series against Zimbabwe. According to a PTI report, these youngsters are currently training at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru.

"Abhishek Sharma, Riyan Parag, Mayank Yadav, Harshit Rana, Nitish Reddy, Vijaykumar Vyshak, and Yash Dayal are all at the camp. Some will go to Zimbabwe T20Is," a BCCI source told PTI on conditions of anonymity.

Mayank Yadav is considered a promising prospect for his ability to bowl at a high pace. Mayank sustained an injury during the IPL season and played just four matches for the Lucknow Super Giants (LSG). Additionally, Vijaykumar Vyshak and Yash Dayal are currently under the BCCI's fast bowling contract.

Riyan Parag made an impression with the bat in this year's IPL while representing the Rajasthan Royals (RR). Parag capitalized on the opportunity after being promoted to No. 4 in the batting order. Parag scored 573 runs in 16 matches at an average of 52.09 and a strike rate of 149.22, including four half-centuries.

Abhishek Sharma demonstrated an aggressive approach as an opener for SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) in IPL 2024. The left-handed batter scored 484 runs at an average of 32.27 and a strike rate of 204.22. Abhishek's fearless approach caught the attention of national selectors for the shorter format of the game.

Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma To Miss T20I Series vs Zimbabwe

There is speculation about Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli's future in T20Is after the ongoing World Cup. According to the PTI report, the two experienced batters will focus on ODIs and Tests for the upcoming season. Team India is scheduled to play nine Test matches from September 2024 to January 2025.

Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, and Suryakumar Yadav are likely to be excluded from the team for the series against Zimbabwe. Rinku Singh, Shubman Gill, Avesh Khan, and Khaleel Ahmed are expected to be part of the squad. These four players were included as reserves during the T20 World Cup 2024.

Also read: India's playing 11 announced for T20 World Cup Super 8, 2 massive changes made including Virat Kohli


Abhishek Sharma Riyan Parag Harshit Rana India National Cricket Team Zimbabwe National Cricket Team