India's playing 11 announced for T20 World Cup Super 8, 2 massive changes made including Virat Kohli

Published - 18 Jun 2024, 05:16 PM | Updated - 18 Jun 2024, 05:27 PM

India (Image Credits: Twitter)

Former Indian wicketkeeper-batter Deep Dasgupta has selected the XI for the Rohit Sharma-led team in their upcoming match against Afghanistan at the ongoing ICC T20 World Cup 2024. Deep Dasgupta omitted all-rounder Axar Patel and pacer Mohammed Siraj from his playing XI for India's next match.

The Rohit Sharma-led team began their T20 World Cup 2024 campaign with a victory against Ireland in New York. The Men in Blue went on to beat Pakistan and the United States of America (USA) in their next two matches. India's final group-stage match against Canada was washed out in Florida due to a wet outfield.

The Men in Blue advanced to the playoffs from Group A alongside the United States of America. The Indian team is placed in Group 1 along with Afghanistan, Australia, and Bangladesh in the Super 8 stages. India will play three matches in the Super 8s, and two teams from Group 1 will advance to the semifinals.

Ideally, Go With Virat Kohli At Three - Deep Dasgupta

Speaking on Star Sports, Deep Dasgupta said that Virat Kohli should bat at No. 3, given his ability to anchor the innings while others contribute around him on difficult pitches. He acknowledged that India might opt for Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli to open, but he prefers Yashasvi Jaiswal to open the innings.

"I would ideally go with Virat at three. Because I think Virat at three on tricky pitches can handle and guide that innings while the others play around him. So for me, even though Team India might not go with the playing XI that I'm talking about, they might still go with Virat and Rohit to open, but ideally, I would go with Rohit Yashasvi," Deep Dasgupta said.

Skipper Rohit Sharma scored a half-century against Ireland but has struggled in the next two matches during the 2024 T20 World Cup. Rohit's opening partner, Virat Kohli, has only managed five runs in three matches. Young batter Yashasvi Jaiswal was not included in all three matches during the group stage.

Axar Patel and Mohammed Siraj Dropped From Playing XI

Deep Dasgupta picked Suryakumar Yadav and Rishabh Pant as middle-order batters in the lineup. Rishabh was promoted to No. 3 and has scored 96 runs in three matches at an average of 48.00 and a strike rate of 124.67. Suryakumar Yadav scored a half-century against the USA after failing in the first two games.

The cricketer-turned-commentator named Hardik Pandya and Shivam Dube as pace-bowling all-rounders in the playing XI. Dasgupta excluded Axar Patel from the lineup for the upcoming match. He retained Ravindra Jadeja in the lineup despite failing to make an impact with both bat and ball in the World Cup.

Dasgupta excluded Mohammed Siraj from the team and included two injured pacers, Jasprit Bumrah and Arshdeep Singh. A left-arm wrist spinner is included in the lineup despite not playing in the group-stage matches. The match will be played at the Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados on June 20.

Deep Dasgupta's India Playing XI: Rohit Sharma, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Jasrpit Bumrah

Also read: David Warner alleges his teammates of not supporting him after the Sandpapergate Scandal


Deep Dasgupta India National Cricket Team Axar Patel Virat Kohli Rohit Sharma Mohammed Siraj ICC T20 World Cup