Ajit Agarkar
Ajit Agarkar (Image Credit: Twitter)

Former cricketers Ajay Jadeja and Ajit Agarkar have picked India’s T20 World Cup in an interaction on Sony Sports channel. Even as the tournament moves to the UAE from India, the BCCI will serve as the hosts and the men in blue are one of the firm favourites to lift the title for the second time. Ajay Jadeja and Ajit Agarkar have named some of the rookie players in the group.

The pair started by naming captain Virat Kohli and vice-captain Rohit Sharma. The duo are the mainstays of India’s batting unit and the most consistent batsmen in the team. As two of the highest run-getters in T20 internationals, they are likely to open the innings too.

Jadeja and Agarkar chose KL Rahul and Prithvi Shaw as reserve top-order players. Even though Shaw managed a golden duck on his T20I debut against Sri Lanka recently, he has massive potential. On the other hand, KL Rahul is a deadly and consistent top-order player, accumulating 1557 runs in the shortest format. Their middle-order consists of Rishabh Pant, Suryakumar Yadav, and Ishan Kishan.

Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav
Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav. Image Credits: Twitter

Pant has already showcased his potential in the international arena, while Yadav are Kishan are rising stars. But the Mumbai Indians’ pair has made the most of their opportunities so far. Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja will headline the all-rounders’ unit for Ajay Jadeja and Ajit Agarkar. Jadeja and Pandya are two of the finest all-rounders today and game-changers in their own right. They lend the perfect balance to the team and are also exceptional fielders.

On the bowling front, the retired cricketers chose Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Additionally, the spin-bowling unit will consist of Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, and Varun Chakravarthy. Chahal, the highest wicket-taker for India in the shortest format, is the most experienced spinner. But Chakravarthy and Chahal have done immensely well in the IPL and should impress in the marquee tournament.

Yuzvendra Chahal
Yuzvendra Chahal (Image Credit: Twitter)

Here is Ajit Agarkar and Ajay Jadeja’s India squad for T20 WC 2021:

Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Prithvi Shaw, Ravindra Jadeja, and Varun Chakravarthy.

Also Read: Franchise Cricket Helps You Develop As A Player: Kevin Pietersen