Akash Deep No-Ball Controversy- MCC shuts down with a tight slap

Published - 08 Jul 2025, 11:25 AM | Updated - 08 Jul 2025, 12:03 PM

Akash Deep And Joe Root
Image Credits: X

The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) stated the controversy surrounding Akash Deep’s delivery that bowled Joe Root during the Edgbaston Test. According to the statement, the Indian fast bowler’s back foot had landed within the return crease, adding that there was nothing wrong with the dismissal.

Akash hit the stumps on the second ball of the 10th over during the second Test. The wicket came at a crucial time, leaving the Ben Stokes-led team struggling at 50/3 while chasing a 608-run target. However, the dismissal sparked controversy when replays showed Akash’s back foot touched the return crease.

Also Read: 'Akash Deep cheated...': India selector drops bombshell on Joe Root's controversial dismissal in 2nd Test

SHORTS

View More

Your daily dose of cricket!

Loading...
prev
next

Akash Deep Cleans Up Joe Root for 6 with a Stunning Delivery

Former England batter Jonathan Trott questioned the legality of the delivery that dismissed Joe Root, suggesting it might have been a back-foot no-ball. However, former India head coach Ravi Shastri, who was also on air at the time, stated that the ball was completely fair.

Shastri pointed out that third umpire Paul Reiffel did not intervene, which confirmed the legality of the dismissal. The on-field umpires for the match were Chris Gaffaney and Sharfuddoula Saikat.

Replays showed that the foot landed within the return crease, and the delivery was deemed legal. The rest of the foot crossed the line afterward.

Questions Were Raised About Akash Deep’s Delivery - MCC

The MCC spokesperson explained the controversy around Akash Deep’s delivery that bowled Joe Root, as reported by Cricbuzz. The spokesperson acknowledged there was debate but clarified that the decision was correct as per the Laws of Cricket.

"On Day four of India's Test against England last week, there were questions raised about the delivery from Akash Deep which bowled Joe Root, with some fans and commentators believing it to be a no ball," an MCC spokesperson said.

"While Deep landed unusually wide on the crease, and some of his back foot appeared to touch the ground outside the return crease, the third umpire did not call a no ball. MCC is happy to clarify that this was a correct decision in Law," he added.

Akash Deep's Foot First Touched the Ground Within the Crease - MCC

The MCC further clarified to settle the debate around Akash Deep’s delivery. They explained that when Deep’s back foot first made contact with the ground, it was entirely within the return crease.

"Clearly, at the point Deep's foot first touched the ground, the back foot was within and not touching the return crease. Some of his foot may have touched the ground outside the crease subsequently - that is not relevant to this Law. At the point of landing he was within the crease, and this was therefore rightly deemed to be a legal delivery," the MCC clarified the rule.

Akash Deep became only the second Indian bowler to take 10 wickets in a Test match on English soil. He picked up six wickets in the second innings as England were bowled out for 271 on the final day. India secured an emphatic 336-run win in the second Test and leveled the five-match series at 1-1.

Also Read: Akash Deep faces shocking accusations over Joe Root dismissal - ICC action incoming?

Sai Vaitla

Sai Vaitla is an author at Cricketaddictor and he has been working since September 2022. Sai Vaitla... Read more

logo
Stay Updated with the Latest Cricket News from Cricket Addictor.

You will receive the latest updates on cricket news throughout the day. You can manage them whenever you need in browser settings.

PREDICT
Dream11

Predictions Live

LIVE

LIVE STREAM