Arjun Tendulkar Snubbed As Mumbai Name Squad For Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy

Arjun Tendulkar Snubbed As Mumbai Name Squad For Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy

Arjun Tendulkar
Arjun Tendulkar (Photo by Ishara S. KODIKARA / AFP)

Arjun Tendulkar, son of the legendary Indian cricket, Sachin Tendulkar has been omitted from Mumbai’s squad for the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (SMAT), which is the premier T20 tournament in India. On Saturday, the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) named their squad on its website.

The T20 tournament will commence on 10th January as title defenders Karnataka will take on Jammu and Kashmir (J&K) with the final slated for 31st January. The group matches are scheduled in 6 different cities –   Bangalore, Kolkata, Vadodara, Indore, Mumbai, and Chennai – adhering to the bio-bubble protocols. The quarter-finals, semi-finals, and then the final will be played at the newly built 110,000-seater Motera stadium in Ahmedabad.

Suryakumar Yadav, IPL
Suryakumar Yadav. Credits: Twitter

Shreyas Iyer, Arjun Tendulkar, Shardul Thakur to miss SMAT 2021

Right-handed batsman, Suryakumar Yadav will lead the Mumbai team in the SMAT 2021. Yadav was instrumental in the success of Mumbai Indians in the IPL 2020. His MI teammate, Aditya Tare is the vice-captain for Mumbai.

The squad also includes Rajasthan Royals’ young opener, Yashasvi Jaiswal, and Kings XI Punjab’s Sarfaraz Khan along with experienced batsman Siddhesh Lad, and all-rounder Shivam Dube.

Senior pacer will lead the bowling department Dhawal Kulkarni which includes the likes of Tushar Deshpande and spinners Atharva Ankolekar and Shams Mulani.

Arjun Tendulkar
Arjun Tendulkar (Credits: Twitter)

There were a few notable exclusions. Young bowling all-rounder, Arjun Tendulkar is overlooked after being hyped a lot earlier. Arjun has represented Marylebone Cricket Club Young Cricketers last year and also played for the Mumbai Under-19s. India international Shreyas Iyer will miss out on the tournament owing to the injury he suffered during the Australia tour. Seamer Shardul Thakur is in Australia with the national team for the Test series.

The MCA has said that all the selected players are required to undergo an RT-PCR test for Covid-19 and carry the negative report while reporting at the Wankhede Stadium on December 29. Mumbai will begin their tournament against Delhi on 11th January.

Squad: Suryakumar Yadav (Captain), Aditya Tare (Vice-Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Aakarshit Gomel, Sarfaraz Khan, Siddhesh Lad, Shivam Dube, Shubham Ranjane, Sujit Nayak, Sairaj Patil, Tushar Deshpande, Dhawal Kulkarni, Minad Manjrekar, Prathamesh Dake, Atharva Ankolekar, Shashank Attarde, Shams Mulani, Hardik Tamore, Akash Parkar, and Sufiyan Shaikh.

Also Read: ‘With All That Mohammed Siraj Has Gone Through, I Am Very Happy For Him’- Pragyan Ojha