AUS vs NZ: Watch - Mitchell Santner Rattles Mitchell Marsh's Stumps

Published - 28 Oct 2023, 05:33 PM

AUS vs NZ: Watch - Mitchell Santner Rattles Mitchell Marsh's Stumps
AUS vs NZ: Watch - Mitchell Santner Rattles Mitchell Marsh's Stumps [PC: X]

New Zealand spinner Mitchell Santner delivered a pivotal breakthrough in the 27th match of the ICC World Cup 2023 by dismissing Australian all-rounder Mitchell Marsh. Mitchell Santner dismantled Mitchell Marsh’s stumps, putting an end to scratchy innings.

Skipper Tom Latham opted to bowl first after winning the toss in Dharamshala on Saturday, October 28. New Zealand made a lone change in the team. James Neesaham replaced the injured Mark Chapman. Travis Head returned to the field after recovering from the injury.

Tom Latham’s decision backfired as the Australian openers, David Warner and Travis Head, made a flying start in the powerplay. The batting duo added 118 runs within the first 10 overs, helping the team achieve the highest-ever powerplay total in ODI World Cup history.

Part-time spinner Glenn Phillips provided a crucial breakthrough for his team, dismissing David Warner. The left-handed batter missed the opportunity to score his third consecutive hundred. He scored 81 runs off 65 deliveries, including five boundaries and six maximums.

Watch – Mitchell Marsh Fails To Score At A Quick Pace Gets Dismissed By Mitchell Santner

Mitchell Marsh came to the crease when the team’s score was 175-1 after 19.1 overs. The 32-year-old struggled to score runs at a quick pace despite the team’s good start. He managed to score just two boundaries before being dismissed for 36 runs from 51 deliveries.

Mitchell Santner bowled a tossed-up delivery, missing Mitchell Marsh’s inside edge and dislodging the stumps. The right-handed batter attempted to force the ball through the off-side but played outside the line, causing the ball to hit the top of the off-stump.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by ICC (@icc)

Australia vs New Zealand Playing XI

Australia: David Warner, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Inglis(w), Glenn Maxwell, Pat Cummins(c), Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

New Zealand: Devon Conway, Will Young, Rachin Ravindra, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham(w/c), Glenn Phillips, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult

Also read: AUS vs PAK: Clueless Pakistani Bowling! Twitter Reacts As David Warner, Mitchell Marsh Hit Brilliant Tons


Australia National Cricket Team ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 ICC ODI World Cup 2023 Mitchell Marsh Mitchell Santner New Zealand national cricket team