Australia National Cricket Team
Australia. Image Source: Twitter

Australia Test skipper Pat Cummins has been rested for the T20I series against Sri Lanka in June.

Cricket Australia on Friday announced squads for all three formats for Australia’s forthcoming one-month tour to the island nation.

PBKS vs LSG Dream11 Prediction

Aaron Finch-Pat Cummins
Photo Credit: (Getty Images)

Marcus Harris sidelined for Test series

Western Australian batter Marcus Harris was once again ignored in the Test squad after being dropped for the Pakistan Test series. However, Harris was included in Australia A squad along with Queensland pacer Mark Steketee.

Many prominent players like Glenn Maxwell, David Warner, Steve Smith, Josh Hazlewood, and Mitchell Starc will return to the white-ball setup after missing the limited-overs leg in Pakistan.

Some of the aforementioned players joined their IPL teams in India. Cummins is part of the ODI squad while Ben McDermott, who scored his maiden ODI hundred against Pakistan, was snubbed for the Sri Lanka series.

Australia cricket team
Australia cricket team. Credits: Twitter

“These are very targeted to skill sets and what we see as the bulk of the squad for the home T20 WC and looking further forward to the ODI World Cup,” Australian men’s team chairman of selectors George Bailey stated. 

“We were able to continue to build our depth with great white ball performances in Pakistan on the back of a superb Test Series. As selectors this has been one of the most rewarding parts amid the challenges of the past few years,” he added. 

This will be the first assignment for Andrew McDonald after his elevation to the head coach role on a permanent basis.

This would also be the first time that an Australia A team will tour abroad since Ashes 2019. The Australia A team will play two One-Day Internationals and as many First-Class matches.

Australia will play three T20Is, five ODIs, and a couple of Tests against Sri Lanka. The tour begins on June 7 with the first T20 International in Colombo.

Australia squads for Tests, ODIs, and T20Is for the Sri Lanka tour 2022

Australia T20 squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner

Australia ODI squad: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

Australia Test squad: Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

Australia A squad: Sean Abbott, Scott Boland, Peter Handscomb, Aaron Hardie, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Henry Hunt, Josh Inglis, Matthew Kuhnemann, Nic Maddinson, Todd Murphy, Josh Philippe, Matt Renshaw, Jhye Richardson, Tanveer Sangha, Mark Steketee

Also Read: IPL 2022: Pat Cummins Bats A Lot Better In IPL Than He Does For Australia – Aaron Finch