Mitchell Starc
Mitchell Starc (Image Credit: Twitter)

Australian pace bowler Mitchell Starc and Australia women’s team off-spinner Ashleigh Gardner were among the big names in the list of Australian Cricket Awards.

Starc was named the Allan Border Medalist and Gardner received the Belinda Clark Medalist. Both the players received maximum votes for the award in the period of January 26, 2021, to January 18, 2022.

Mitchell Starc pips Mitchell Marsh by one vote for Allan Border Medalist winner

Starc amassed 43 wickets across all formats in the 12 months and 19 of those wickets were taken in the Ashes 2021-22 against England. The Australian lanky pacer edged out all-rounder Mitchell Marsh by one vote.

Mitchell Starc
Mitchell Starc. Credits:

Ashleigh Gardner seven votes  ahead of Beth Mooney for Belinda Clark Medalist

Gardner scored 281 runs in 10 innings at an average of 35.10 with four half-centuries and claimed nine wickets.

Gardner, who became the first indigenous player to bag the top awards, was seven votes ahead of Australian wicketkeeper-batter Beth Mooney, who won the same award last year.

Ashleigh Gardner
Ashleigh Gardner. Credits: Twitter

The awards for Australia’s international cricketers are determined by the votes from players, umpires and the media on a basis of 3-2-1 for each match.

Although Australia men’s cricket team played just three ODI matches against West Indies in 2021, Starc also managed to bag the male ODI Player of the Year award.

Starc snapped 13 wickets at an average of 10.64 from three matches against West Indies in July.

Marsh, who scored a fabulous 77 against New Zealand in the T20 World Cup final, was awarded Men’s T20 Player of the Year. Marsh beat pace bowler Josh Hazlewood by 24 votes.

South Australian batter Travis Head, who scored the most runs in the Ashes amongst both sides, was named Test player of the Year. Head scored 357 runs from six innings at an average of 59.50 and scored a couple of hundreds.

Australia women’s team opening batter Alyssa Healy took the ODI award for the third time in a row. Mooney bagged the T20I honour.

Head and Elyse Villani took the respective Player of the Year titles in the domestic categories while Darcie Brown and Tim Ward were named the Betty Wilson and Bradman Young Cricketers of the Year respectively.

Also Read: Justin Langer, Raelee Thompson Inducted Into Australian Cricket Hall Of Fame