BAN vs ZIM: Shakib Al Hasan returns as Bangladesh announce squad for final two Zimbabwe T20Is with eye on T20 World Cup 2024

Updated - 08 May 2024, 05:23 PM

Shakin Al Hasan
Shakin Al Hasan. Image Credit: Getty Images

The Bangladesh cricket team received a major boost as their star all-rounder, Shakib Al Hasan, returned to the T20I side after nearly a year-long hiatus. The ace spinner has been named in the Bangladesh squad for the remaining two matches of the ongoing five-match T20I series against Zimbabwe.

Alongside Shakib, Soumya Sarkar and Mustafizur Rahman also returned to the T20I squad, and it bolstered Bangladesh’s depth and strength as the tigers aim to extend their winning streak following a commanding 3-0 lead in the ongoing five-match T20I series against Zimbabwe.

However, the trio's tactical inclusion led to the omission of Parvez Hossain Emon and Afif Hossain from Bangladesh’s T20I squad, while fast bowler Shoriful Islam was given a well-deserved rest after featuring in the initial matches of the home series.

Bangladesh welcomes back Shakib Al Hasan for Zimbabwe T20Is

Shakib was the Bangladesh captain in T20Is until July 2023, when he delivered the Player-of-the-Match performance against Afghanistan in Sylhet. However, the veteran all-rounder was then sidelined due to an eye condition, and a finger injury disturbed his T20 World Cup 2024 preparations. It led Najmul Hossain Shanto to take over Bangladesh’s captaincy across all formats this year.

On the other hand, Mustafizur returned to the T20I set-up after his successful stint with the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the ongoing IPL 2024, where he showcased his prowess with the ball, taking 14 wickets in nine games for the franchise. Meanwhile, Soumya's comeback from a knee injury that he sustained during a clash against Sri Lanka in March 2024 bolstered Bangladesh's batting lineup.

The final two T20Is against Zimbabwe are really important for both the Bangladesh players and national selectors, as they provide them with an opportunity to fine-tune the squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2024 in the USA and Caribbean.

It is being said that the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) will announce their squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 on May 13, a day after the conclusion of the final T20I against Zimbabwe in Dhaka. So, these T20I matches could serve as a pivotal platform for Bangladesh selectors to finalize their roster for the upcoming global tournament, starting on June 1.

Here’s Bangladesh squad for the last two T20I against Zimbabwe:

Najmul Hossain Shanto (C), Litton Das, Tanzid Hasan, Shakib Al Hasan, Towhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah, Jaker Ali, Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Soumya Sarkar, Tanvir Islam, Mohammad Saifuddin.

Notably, Bangladesh had won the third T20I against Zimbabwe by just nine runs to take a 3-0 lead in the home series. The final two T20Is between Bangladesh and Zimbabwe are scheduled to take place on May 10 and 12 at the Sher-E-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka.

Earlier, Shakib expressed concerns about the Bangladesh team’s preparation for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024, saying that their preparations for the mega event are not ideal.


Mustafizur Rahman Shakib AL Hasan Bangladesh National Cricket Team BAN vs ZIM 2024 ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Zimbabwe T10