Australia, Bangladesh, Cricket World Cup
Image Credit: Google

The preparations for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021, which will be played in India, have begun for Bangladesh, as they will host Australia and New Zealand for a couple of T20I series later this year. Australia may make a trip to Bangladesh in October, while their trans-Tasman neighbors New Zealand will arrive earlier.

Both Australia and New Zealand, along with Bangladesh have not won the T20 World Cup yet and with the tournament to be played in the Indian sub-continent, the visiting teams cannot have a better preparation than facing Bangladesh in their own backyard. They have a plethora of spinners that are employed in limited-overs matches and it will be good practice for the two teams.

Bangladesh To Host Australia And New Zealand For T20I Series Later This Year
Image Credit: Twitter

England may join Australia and Bangladesh for a T20 tri-series, as per reports

It has been reported by ESPNCricinfo, that originally Australia was to tour Bangladesh for a Test series as a part of the ongoing ICC World Test Championship, but the two cricketing boards have now decided to play T20I matches instead with an eye on the T20 World Cup in India, which will be played in October-November, 2021.

Bangladesh National Cricket Team
Bangladesh National Cricket Team – Image Credits: Twitter

Also, as per the Future Tours Program, Bangladesh is also scheduled to host England for the white-ball series ahead of the T20 World Cup 2021, which Australia and England visiting at the same time and presents an opportunity to Bangladesh to host a T20I tri-series at home.

“What is certain is that Australia will be coming. England’s tour is also scheduled in the FTP. We don’t want to say anything about the tri-series yet as all parties must come to an agreement. It will be clearer when we get closer to their arrival. If the tri-series does not take place, then Australia will play three T20s in Bangladesh. New Zealand may also play three matches. But we haven’t finalized the schedule for any series yet,” BCB Chief Executive Nizamuddin Chowdhury said, without making any official statement.

Meanwhile, Bangladesh will face West Indies in the second Test from February 11 onwards to be played in Dhaka. On the other hand, Australia will play New Zealand in a series of five T20I matches in New Zealand starting February 22, 2021.

Also Read: Australia Set To Tour Bangladesh For T20I Series This Year Ahead Of The T20 World Cup In India