BCB Announces National Contracts For Players, Shakib Al Hasan Among Five Players To Bag All-Format Contract

Shakib Al Hasan is one of the five Bangladesh players to receive an all-format national contract after the all-rounder missed the same last year.

On September 1, Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced the national contracts after holding a meeting with the board members. The national contract’s duration is from May to December for this year with the number of players bagging the deal increased from 17 to 24.

Shakib Al Hasana and four more players were handed an all-formats national contract by BCB

Apart from Shakib, the other cricketer to receive the all-format contract are wicketkeeper-batsman Mushfiqur Rahim, opener Liton Das, bowler Taskin Ahmed, and Shoriful Islam. Rahim and Liton were the only two players on this list, who had the same contract last year.

Bangladesh Cricket Team
Shakib Al Hasan[photo: Twitter]

Tamim Iqbal offered Tests and ODIs contract

Senior batsman Tamim Iqbal, who ruled himself out from the ICC T20 World Cup 2021, is handed the ODI and Test contract.  Bangladesh T20I captain Mahmudullah, who retired from Test cricket earlier this year, is the only player to remain with the white-ball format contract.

Six players namely Shoriful Islam, Saif Hassan, Mahedi Hasan, Nurul Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, and Shamim Hossain, have been offered a central contract for the first time. Mohammad Mithun and Nayeem Hasan are the only two players, who have been dropped from the list after being offered a contract last year.

Bangladesh Cricket Team
Bangladesh Cricket Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

Bangladesh won their first T20I against New Zealand after they bowled them out for 60 in the first innings and chased down the target in 15 overs to take a 1-0 lead in the five-match series.

BCB contracted players’ list:

Players contacted for all formats: Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Liton Das, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam.

Players contracted for Tests & ODIs: Tamim Iqbal, Mehidy Hasan, Taijul Islam.

Players contracted for ODI and T20Is: Mahmudullah, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Afif Hossain.

Players contracted for only Tests: Mominul Haque, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Abu Jayed, Shadman Islam, Saif Hassan, Ebadat Hossain.

Players contracted for only T20Is: Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim, Mahedi Hasan, Nurul Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Shamim Hossain.

Also Read: Bangladesh vs New Zealand 2021: Schedule With Indian Time, Date, Squads, Venues, Teams, Players List, Broadcast In India And Live Streaming Details