IPL 2022 mega auction
Photo Credit: (BCCI)

The BCCI has announced a cash prize of 40 lakhs for each India U-19 player post the conclusion of the U-19 World Cup. India won their fifth title by beating England in the final on Saturday. Chasing 190 to win, India won the game by four wickets at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Stadium.

Shaik Rasheed and Nishant Sindhu scored 50 each as they anchored the chase. Harnoor Singh (21) and Raj Bawa (35) came up with crucial contributions as well. Wicketkeeper Dinesh Bana hit the winning runs by smacking a six as India clinched their fifth U-19 World Cup title. Meanwhile, the BCCI in a special announcement said that they have decided to give a cash prize of 40 lakhs each to all the players of the squad.

You Have Made India Proud: BCCI Secretary Jay Shah

India U-19 team
Photo Credit: (BCCI)

This happened after the Indian bowlers bowled out England U-19 for just 189. They were in a spot of bother at 91/7, but thanks to James Rew’s 95 off 116 balls they reached 189 in the end. Raj Bawa took 5/31 while Ravi Kumar took 4/34. Bawa scored 35 with the bat as well to pick up the Man of the Match.

BCCI Announce Cash Prize Of 40 Lakhs For Each India U-19 Player After Winning Fifth Title

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah took to Twitter to announce the same. “I am pleased to announce the reward of 40 lacs per player and 25 lacs per support staff for the U19 #TeamIndia contingent for their exemplary performance in the #U19CWC final. You have made India proud,” tweeted Shah.

In another tweet, Shah said: “Congratulations #BoysInBlue on winning the @ICC U19 World Cup. This is a Very Very Special @VVSLaxman281 win against all odds. Each of our youngsters has shown the heart and temperament needed to make history in these trying times #INDvENG #U19CWCFinal.”

BCCI cash reward for India U- 19 players
Photo Credit: (BCCI)

The Yash Dhull-led side won the U-19 World Cup for the fifth time. Earlier, India had won the U19 World Cup in 2000, 2008, 2012, and 2018. There were congratulatory messages from eminent BCCI officials. BCCI President Sourav Ganguly, treasurer Arun Dhuman and VVS Laxman all congratulated the young team on their success.

Also Read: India vs West Indies Match Preview- West Indies Tour of India 2022, 1st ODI

Anshuman Roy

A Hardcore Cricket Enthusiast Having Previously Worked With Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint, Cricfit and Now With Cricket Addictor.