Virat Kohli, Jay Shah
Virat Kohli, Jay Shah. Image Credits: Twitter

Last Update on: September 17th, 2021 at 11:24 am

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah has revealed that the discussion around Virat Kohli’s captaincy has been going on for the last 6 months. Notably, Indian skipper Virat Kohli announced his decision of stepping down as the Indian T20 captain after the ICC T20 World Cup 2021.

Virat, however, mentioned that he will continue leading the India National Cricket Team in the ODI and the Test format. The decision came as a massive shock for all the Indian supporters as Jay Shah and Arun Dhumal, the senior BCCI officials, refuted of any such captaincy change only a couple of days ago.

Virat Kohli To Step Down As T20I Captain
Virat Kohli To Step Down As T20I Captain.

Jay Shah Speaks On Virat Kohli’s Step Down As Indian Captain After The T20 World Cup

“We have a clear roadmap for Team India. Considering the workload and ensuring that we have a smooth transition, Virat Kohli has decided to step down as T20I captain after T20 World Cup. I have been in discussion with Virat and the leadership team for the last six months and the decision has been thought through,” Jay Shah stated.

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah
BCCI Secretary Jay Shah (Image Credit: Twitter)

“Virat will continue to contribute as a player and as a senior member of the side in shaping the future course of Indian cricket,” Jay Shah further stated.

“Thanks @imVKohli for your contribution as the #TeamIndia captain. As a young talent the focus and determination you have showed as the captain is unmatched. The most impressive aspect was the way of maintaining balance between captaincy and individual performance,” Jay Shah tweeted. 

Rohit Sharma Likely To Takeover As The Indian T20I Captain

Indian vice-captain Rohit Sharma will, in all likelihood, be appointed as the Indian T20I captain after the T20 World Cup. Rohit has been extremely successful leading team India in the format as he has gone on to win 15 out of the 19 matches that he has led team India in.

Virat Kohli Rohit Sharma India
Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma. Image Credits: Twitter

In IPL too, Rohit has led Mumbai Indians (MI) to 5 IPL titles and has won 6 IPL titles in total. Rohit has also won the Nidahas Trophy and Asia Cup in the 20-vers format, leading the Men in Blue.


Priyam Singh

I Wake Up Watching Cricket And Go To Bed Watching Football. Everything In Between Includes Lawn Tennis, Wrestling, Basketball, Formula 1, And Badminton. Less Into Excel Sheets and More Into Astroturfs.