Bhuvneshwar Kumar Has To Be 3rd Seamer After Jasprit Bumrah, Harshal Patel For T20 World Cup - Wasim Jaffer

Published - 21 Jun 2022, 01:57 PM

Wasim Jaffer. Photo- Twitter
Wasim Jaffer. Photo- Twitter

Former Indian cricketer Wasim Jaffer felt that the 5-match T20I series between India and South Africa settled a few debates surrounding the bowling lineup for the T20 World Cup later this year.

Jaffer mentioned that Bhuvneshwar Kumar has done more than enough to get a spot in the playing XI alongside Jasprit Bumrah. He also felt Harshal Patel would be the other choice in Australia.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar
Bhuvneshwar Kumar PC- BCCI

I would say, probably the way Bhuvi (Bhuvneshwar) bowled throughout the series, I think he kind of confirmed himself as the third seamer in my opinion. With (Jasprit) Bumrah and Harshal Patel being the first two in my book. Bhuvi is surely one of those guys as a third seamer in my opinion,” Jaffer said during an interaction on ESPNCricinfo.

“I would have Hardik Pandya second in line to lead” – Wasim Jaffer

Jaffer also pointed out that he would prefer to have Hardik Pandya leading the Indian T20I side when Rohit is taking a breather. That being said, he still backed the idea of brooming Rishabh Pant for the role in the future.

If Rohit is playing then there is no question of Pant leading. I would have Hardik Pandya second in line. Those will be my two main guys going forward. If at all I need to make somebody captain, I would go to Hardik if Rohit is not there.”

hardik pandya. pc -BCCI
hardik Pandya. pc -BCCI

Going forward DK is going to be your first choice. When Virat comes back, Surya comes back, Hardik and Ravindra Jadeja, I think Rishabh Pant will find it hard to find a place in the XI,” he also noted.

India currently lacks inspiring captaincy choices and they will have to groom either Pant or Shreyas Iyer keeping the future of the team in mind.

Also Read – IPL 2022: I Spoke With Him And Received Bowling Advice- Yashasvi Jaiswal On Improving His Leg-Spin Bowling Technique Under Yuzvendra Chahal


Hardik Pandya India National Cricket Team Wasim Jaffer