Harmanpreet Kaur, MS Dhoni
Harmanpreet Kaur, MS Dhoni. (Photo: Twitter)

India Women’s National Cricket Team skipper Harmanpreet Kaur has surpassed legendary India National Cricket Team captain MS Dhoni to become the most successful T20 International (T20I) captain of Team India.

The 33-year-old Kaur achieved the massive milestone with a win over the Pakistan Women’s National Cricket Team in the Commonwealth Games 2022 Women’s Cricket Competition at the Edgbaston, Birmingham on Sunday, July 31.

ICC Teams  Rankings | ICC Players Rankings

So far India National Cricket Team have been led by Virender Sehwag, MS Dhoni, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant and Hardik Pandya.

MS Dhoni
Photo Credit: (Getty Images)

The India Women’s National Cricket Team have been led by Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami, Anjum Chopra, Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana. Among all the India Men’s and Women’s Team captains Harmanpreet Kaur has registered the most T20I wins for the side.

Harmanpreet Kaur Registers Her 42nd Win As T20I Captain

Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur
Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur. (Photo: Twitter)

Harmanpreet has led India in 71 T20Is and has won 42 games. She overtook Dhoni’s tally of 41 T20I wins, which the legendary India skipper registered in 72 games. Harmanpreet is also the third most successful T20I skipper in women’s T20I, behind Charlotte Edwards (68) and Meg Lanning (64).

Read More  "Ravichandran Ashwin will never go a full series.."- Former England skipper lauds the veteran spinner's consistency

Among India Women’s National Cricket Team skippers, Mithali Raj is the closest to Harmanpreet on the list of most wins as she had won 17 T20I games as captain. Also, Virat Kohli is the third most successful India T20I captain with 30 wins and Rohit Sharma is 4th on the list with 27 T20I wins.

Talking about the Commonwealth Games 2022 game between India Women’s National Cricket Team and Pakistan Women’s National Cricket Team, the Bismah Maroof-led side won the toss and elected to bat first. They were able to post only 99 runs on the board and all the Indian bowlers bagged at least one wicket, except Deepti Sharma.

Chasing the target, Smriti Mandhana smashed a terrific half-century while Shafali Verma and Sabbhineni Meghana’s small contributions helped India win the game. Notably, Smriti batted with a strike rate of 150 and she smashed 63 runs off 42 balls, including 8 fours and 3 sixes. Also, India won by 8 wickets with 38 balls remaining.

Smriti Mandhana. Photo- ICC
Smriti Mandhana. Photo- ICC

Also Read: MS Dhoni Told Me To Believe In My Abilities; Ruturaj Gaikwad Supported Me And Gave Me The Confidence – Mukesh Choudhary

Get All Cricket match prediction and fantasy Tips – CLICK HERE

Cricket Match Prediction | T20 World Cup Match Prediction | Today Match Fantasy Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket News and Updates | Cricket Live Score

Read More  Rohit Sharma eyes to go past Gautam Gambhir in an elite list in Dharamsala


Sonanchal Gautam is the Assistant Content Manager at Cricketaddictor. He is a professional Wrestling and Hip-hop enthusiast.