Chris Gayle Among 32 Players Drafted For The Upcoming Abu Dhabi T10 League

Updated - 04 May 2024, 11:44 AM

Chris Gayle
Credits: Twitter

West Indian batting star Chris Gayle is amongst the 32 players that have been drafted for the upcoming season of the Abu Dhabi T10 League which will be played after the ongoing T20 World Cup 2021. The Abu Dhabi T10 will be played in the UAE capital from November 19 to December 4.

Abu Dhabi T10 series is the world’s only 10-over cricket tournament officially sanctioned by the ICC and licensed by the Emirates Cricket Board. The 32 players who have been drafted in the Abu Dhabi T10 league will be seen in action for their respective countries in the ongoing ICC men’s T20 World Cup 2021.

The majority of West Indies players who have been drafted included the likes of explosive players such as Nicholas Pooran, Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Ravi Rampaul, Darren Bravo, Akeal Hosein, and Andre Fletcher.

Abu Dhabi T10 League

Players From England, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka And Ireland To Take Part In Abu Dhabi T10 League

Other players include the likes of England’s white-ball captain Eoin Morgan, and other England players like Moeen Ali, Chris Jordan, Reece Topley, Liam Livingstone, Tymal Mills, Adil Rashid, and Jason Roy. Hazratullah Zazai, Qais Ahmed, and Rahmanullah Gurbaz will represent Afghanistan, while Dushmantha Chameera, Maheesh Theekshana, Chamika Karunaratne, and Wanindu Hasaranga will represent Sri Lanka.

Paul Stirling, Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, and Joshua Little will represent Ireland. While Mohammad Saifuddin will turn out for the Bangladesh outfit and David Wiese is turning out for the Namibia team in the T20 World Cup.

Yusuf Pathan, Sunrisers Hyderabad
Yusuf Pathan (Image Credit: Twitter)

There is six teams taking part in the Abu Dhabi T10 League- Maratha Arabians with Liam Livingstone as icon player, Team Abu Dhabi with Nicholas Pooran as icon player, Bangla Tigers with Faf du Plessis as icon player and captain, Deccan Gladiators with Andre Russell as icon player, Delhi Bulls with Jason Roy as icon player and Dwayne Bravo as captain and Northern Warriors with Chris Jordan as icon player.

There are Indian players featuring in the Abu Dhabi T10 League as well with the likes of Abhimanyu Mithun, Kaunain Abbas, Nav Pabreja, and the biggest Indian name of Yusuf Pathan, who will play for Maratha Arabians.

Also Read: Sri Lanka’s First Test Captain Bandula Warnapura Passes Away At 68