Meg Lanning, Harmanpreet Kaur
Meg Lanning, Harmanpreet Kaur. (Photo: Twitter)

Last Update on: November 12th, 2021 at 04:59 pm

India women will play the opening match of the 2022 Birmingham Commonwealth Games where they will meet Australia at the Edgbaston Stadium on July 29. The two semi-finals are slated for 6 August, and the bronze and gold medal (Final) matches will take place on 7 August.

On the same day in the evening session, Pakistan will face Barbados, who were recently confirmed as the team from the West Indies that will take part in the Commonwealth Games.

Hosts England will play their first match on 30 July, when they will take on the winner of a qualifying tournament which is due to take place at the start of 2022. They will then clash with South Africa in the early session on 2 August, followed by a third match against New Zealand in the evening session on 4 August.

India women's cricket team.
India women’s cricket team. Credits: Twitter

The big arch-rivalry between India and Pakistan is scheduled for 31 July.

7 out of 8 teams for the women’s T20 competition were announced back in April with the last team set to be finalised at the end of January 2022.

Birmingham 2022 will be the first time that T20 cricket is included in the Commonwealth Games and it is also the first time that women’s cricket has been on the sports programme at any Commonwealth Games, with men’s 50 overs cricket included in the 1998 edition which was held in Kuala Lumpur.

Read More  India vs England Today Match Prediction- ICC World Cup 2023, Warm Up Match, Who Will Win Today's ODI Match?
Birmingham Commonwealth Games 2022
Birmingham Commonwealth Games 2022 (Image Credit: Twitter)

ICC Acting Chief Executive Geoff Allardice said: “We have seen tremendous growth of the women’s game over the past few years and the Commonwealth Games will undoubtedly be another major moment on that journey.

“Today’s announcement of the match schedule gives fans lots to look forward to, not least with the opening game between ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 finalists Australia and India and we know that Edgbaston will provide a great stage for the competition.

“On behalf of the ICC and our Members, I would like to thank the Commonwealth Games Federation for all the support and look forward to some exciting cricket in Birmingham 2022.”

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2021: Aakash Chopra Reckons Mohammad Rizwan Deserves Immense Praise For Bold Approach, Feels It Was Worth Watching