St Lucia, CPL
St Lucia Kings [Image-Twitter]

Another Caribbean Premier League [CPL] franchise in the form of St Lucia has changed its name ahead of its upcoming season.

The franchise is owned by KPH Dream Cricket Private Limited, which also runs the Indian Premier League franchise, Punjab Kings.

The St. Lucia Kings will now share the same branding as their IPL counterparts- Punjab Kings.

“This synergy will help build on the successes the team has had since the new owners arrived after they finished as runners-up at last year’s Hero CPL tournament,” read a statement from the CPL press release.

St Lucia, Darren Sammy, T20 Captain Of Lucia Zouks
Darren Sammy (Image Credit: Twitter)

Commenting on the new identity of the St. Lucia franchise, skipper Darren Sammy said-

“I love the logo and I love the new name. It’s a pleasure to be associated with the Kings Franchise and I truly hope that the name can inspire our players to play like the true Kings that we are!”

St. Lucia has become the second CPL franchise that has changed its name ahead of the upcoming season.

Last month, two-time CPL champions Barbados Tridents announced that they will now be playing under the new name- Barbados Royals- after the Royals franchise owners bought a significant share in the Barbados franchise.

St. Lucia Kings will kickstart their CPL 2021 campaign against Jamaica Tallawahs at St. Kitts from August 27.

Also Read- IPL 2021: England Players To Be Available For The 2nd Phase- Reports

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.