CSK vs LSG: Watch - Catch of the tournament contender as KL Rahul takes one-handed stunner to dismiss Ajinkya Rahane

Updated - 23 Apr 2024, 07:56 PM

KL Rahul, Ajinkya Rahane
KL Rahul, Ajinkya Rahane [PC: X]

Captain KL Rahul gave his team Lucknow Super Giants a flying start in the ongoing game against Chennai Super Kings by pulling off a stunning catch.

The wicketkeeper-batsman won the toss and opted to bowl first. And his decision was justified in the very first over as his brilliant catch behind the stumps sent back Ajinkya Rahane for just 1. New Zealand pacer Matt Henry opened the bowling for LSG at the MA Chidambaram Stadium.

After conceding two singles and a double on the first five deliveries, he struck on the final ball of the over. The right-arm pacer bowled one in the corridor of uncertainty and Ajinkya Rahane decided to play a drive. However, he could not middle the ball and ended up edging it behind the stumps.

On most days, the ball would have gone past the wicketkeeper as it was a good few yards away from KL Rahul. However, the LSG captain made a full-length dive to his right and caught a one-handed stunner to give his team the early breakthrough. Rahane had to depart after scoring just one run in three balls.

Watch the catch from KL Rahul:

The latest failure has further extended Ajinkya Rahane's poor run as an opener in IPL 2024. He has been promoted to open the innings since the game against Mumbai Indians at the Wankhede Stadium earlier this month.

However, the veteran batsman has failed to justify the decision so far. He was out for just five runs against Mumbai Indians before scoring 26 runs off 24 balls against LSG last week. In his latest outing, he could not even reach double-digits.

Talking about the ongoing game, CSK were on 26 for 1 in the fourth over at the time of writing this report. Captain Ruturaj Gaikwad and Daryl Mitchell were batting in the middle for the hosts. CSK are looking to get back to winning ways after suffering a defeat against LSG last week.


KL Rahul Ajinkya Rahane IPL 2024 IPL Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)