CSK vs LSG: Watch - Devdutt Padikkal looks clueless as Matheesha Pathirana castles him with stunning delivery

Updated - 23 Apr 2024, 11:08 PM

Devdutt Padikkal, Matheesha Pathirana
Devdutt Padikkal, Matheesha Pathirana [PC: X.com]

Matheesha Pathirana picked up his first wicket in the ongoing game between Chennai Super Kings and Lucknow Super Giants in style by castling Devdutt Padikkal with a beauty at the MA Chidambaram Stadium.

Devdutt Padikkal had to walk out to bat in the fifth over after LSG lost the wickets of both their openers inside the powerplay. Deepak Chahar dismissed Quinton de Kock for a duck in the very first over to give CSK a flying start. In the fifth over, Mustafizur Rahman sent back LSG captain KL Rahul for 16 to leave the visitors reeling at 33 for 2.

Devdutt Padikkal and Marcus Stoinis steadied the ship by sharing a 50-plus stand for the third wicket. However, just when it looked like they were set and could bat LSG to a strong position, Matheesha Pathirana broke the partnership by castling Devdutt Padikkal.

On the final ball of the 11th over, the right-arm pacer dismissed the left-handed batsman to give CSK a much-needed breakthrough. It was a length delivery on the leg stump and Padikkal just could not pick the length. His feet remained rooted and the ball went on to crash into the stumps before uprooting the off-stump.

Watch as Matheesha Pathirana castles Devdutt Padikkal:

Devdutt Padikkal departed after scoring 13 runs off 19 balls and sharing a 53-run stand with Stoinis. Talking about the game, LSG were on 143 for 3 in the 16th over at the time of writing this report. Marcus Stoinis was batting on 86 while Nicholas Pooran was on 21.

Earlier in the game, CSK finished their innings on 210 for 4 in 20 overs after being asked to bat first. Captain Ruturaj Gaikwad starred with the bat by scoring an unbeaten century. He scored 108 runs from just 60 balls and became the first-ever CSK captain to score an IPL century. Shivam Dube also played a crucial knock, smashing 66 runs off just 27 balls.


Devdutt Padikkal Matheesha Pathirana Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) IPL 2024