CSK vs RR: Shane Watson avoids supporting Sanju Samson over his controversial dismissal in IPL 2024

Updated - 14 May 2024, 05:20 PM

Shane Watson and Sanju Samson
Shane Watson and Sanju Samson (Credits: Instagram)

Former Australia all-rounder Shane Watson feels that Shai Hope's catch of Rajasthan Royals skipper Sanju Samson was legal and that the umpire was right with his decision. 

The incident which occurred last night at the Arun Jaitley stadium is being widely discussed by cricket pundits all across the country. While some feel that the TV Umpire was at fault, others including Shane Watson have claimed that Sanju Samson was out and the umpire should not be blamed for his ultimate call. 

What did Shane Watson say on the Sanju Samson matter? 

While speaking to Jio Cinema after the Delhi Capitals defeated Rajasthan Royals by 20 runs, Shane Watson said things that Sanju Samson won't like at all. 

From his observation, Watson claimed that he felt that there was some disturbance or contact between Shai Hope and the boundary cushions. But through the third umpire's lens, the Australian claimed that the catch did look clean enough to be given out. 

Shane Watson, who won the inaugural IPL edition with Rajasthan Royals in 2008, further admitted that Shai Hope's effort was very special. 

“It looked like there might have been some disturbance on the rope. The most important angle that the third umpire had it looked like the fielder somehow managed to not touch the rope. It was touch and go there, but twinkle toes on the boundary, Shai Hope pulled off something very special," Shane Watson said via Jio Cinema. 

The 2018 IPL winner with Chennai Super Kings then highlighted how Delhi Capitals co-owner Parth Jindal was indicating that Sanju Samson was out. Not just Jindal but a lot of people in the crowd were shouting that Samson was out.

However, the Rajasthan Royals dugout and felt that the case was something else. They were of the view that Shai Hope's feet touched the boundary cushions. Sanju Samson, who was at the receiving end of things, had a brief but aggressive argument with the on-field umpire regarding the decision. 

However, according to Shane Watson, the third umpire was not at fault. He stated that there might have been some confusion but in the end, the third umpire was right in his decision and there was no indecision about the call. 

"And you can see one of the owners of DC, Parth Jindal, being very vocal on what he thought was the decision. There was a little bit of confusion, but in the end, the third umpire got the decision right I believe. It was very clear at the end, so there was no indecision about that call," Shane Watson concluded. 

Hopes still alive for Delhi Capitals  

That particular catch from Shai Hope was actually the game changer and that effort is the reason why Delhi Capitals are still in contention for the play-offs. DC are now with 12 points after 12 games and wins in their last 2 league matches will take them to 16 points. 

If other results fall in their favor and DC maintains a good net run rate, then we can see Rishabh Pant's side finish in the top 4. 

Read More: