DC vs LSG: Watch - Nicholas Pooran takes brilliant catch near the boundary to dismiss Abishek Porel

Updated - 14 May 2024, 09:05 PM

Nicholas Pooran, Abishek Porel
Nicholas Pooran, Abishek Porel [PC: X]

Nicholas Pooran, on Tuesday (May 14), took a fine catch to dismiss a well-set Abishek Porel and give Lucknow Super Giants a crucial breakthrough in the ongoing game against Delhi Capitals at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi.

LSG skipper won the toss and opted to bowl first. Arshad Khan justified his captain's decision by dismissing the dangerous Jake Fraser-McGurk for a duck in the very first over. However, Porel and Shai Hope did not let LSG capitalize on the early breakthrough.

They shared a 92-run stand between them before Ravi Bishnoi dismissed Hope for 38 runs in the ninth over. Unlike Hope, Porel made the most of the start and completed a fine fifty. However, the left-handed batsman did not last long after reaching his fifty and had to depart for 58 as Nicholas Pooran came up with a fine effort on the field.

On the first ball of the 12th over, Naveen-ul-Haq bowled a slower delivery to the DC opener who hit the ball towards deep mid-wicket. As it was a slower delivery, there was not enough power behind the shot. However, Porel's shot still looked good enough to sail over Pooran's head.

However, the West Indies star did well to catch the ball over his head before coming up with a juggling effort to complete it. Porel departed after scoring 58 runs off 33 balls with the help of five fours and four sixes.

Talking about the game, DC were on 138 for 3 in the 16th over at the time of writing this report. Captain Rishabh Pant, who missed the last game due to suspension, was batting on 28 while Tristan Stubbs was unbeaten on 7. This is a must-win game for DC. A loss for them would knock them out of the playoffs race. Even if they win the game, they will have to depend on other results to make it to the playoffs.

Watch the catch from Nicholas Pooran to dismiss Abishek Porel:


Nicholas Pooran Abishek Porel IPL 2024