DC vs RR: Revealed - Why are Dhruv Jurel, Shimron Hetmyer not playing today's IPL 2024 match and who have replaced them?

Published - 07 May 2024, 07:20 PM | Updated - 08 May 2024, 01:53 PM

Dhruv Jurel, Shimron Hetmyer
Dhruv Jurel, Shimron Hetmyer [PC: X]

Rajasthan Royals will be looking to get back to winning ways against Delhi Capitals on Tuesday (May 7). Both teams are locking horns against each other in the 56th game of the ongoing Indian Premier League 2024 (IPL 2024), at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi.

RR are coming into this game after suffering a loss in their last game against Sunrisers Hyderabad. Chasing 202 runs, RR came up with a fine effort but eventually fell short by 1 run as they finished on 200 for 7 in the allotted 20 overs. It was their second loss in ten games this season. 

With the race for the playoffs as well as the top two heating up, the Sanju Samson-led side will be desperate to win tonight to seal their spot in the next round. A win tonight will take them to 18 points and will make them the first team to qualify for the playoffs in IPL 2024.

Shimron Hetmyer, and Dhruv Jurel unavailable:

RR, however, will have to win the game without their middle-order batters Shimron Hetmyer and Dhruv Jurel. Speaking at the toss, captain Sanju Samson confirmed that both the batters were unavailable due to niggles. They have been replaced by Shubham Dubey and Donovan Ferreira in the RR playing XI.

"We would like to bowl first, looks a good a wicket to chase on. We are comfortable doing both. The environment in the team is what pleases me, we have great characters, of course winning helps. Dhruv and Hetmyer are unavailable. Dubey and Donovan are in," said Samson after winning the toss and opting to bowl first.

Just like RR, DC are also coming into this game after losing their last game and will be desperate to get back to winning ways to stay in contention for the playoffs. DC suffered a seven-wicket loss against Kolkata Knight Riders in their last game. 

Playing XIs:

Delhi Capitals:

Jake Fraser-McGurk, Abishek Porel, Shai Hope, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Tristan Stubbs, Gulbadin Naib, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mukesh Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Khaleel Ahmed

Rajasthan Royals:

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson(w/c), Riyan Parag, Donovan Ferreira, Rovman Powell, Shubham Dubey, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Yuzvendra Chahal

Read More:  IPL 2024 Points Table