Dilip Vengsarkar
Dilip Vengsarkar (PC-Twitter)

Last Update on: October 30th, 2022 at 10:20 am

The Indian Cricketers Association (ICA) election, which ended on Saturday, saw the election of Dilip Vengsarkar and Pragyan Ojha, who both secured significant posts (October 29).

The two have been chosen to represent the ICA on the Apex Council of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and the Governing Council of the Indian Premier League (IPL) respectively. On Saturday, the association’s three-day e-voting period came to a conclusion, and the results were made public that night. 

Dilip Vengsarkar
Dilip Vengsarkar. (Photo: BCCI)

Dilip Vengsarkar Appreciates Former Cricketers For Showing Faith In Him

With 402 votes to 230 for outgoing ICA President Ashok Malhotra, Vengsarkar defeated Malhotra essentially by a landslide majority of 172 votes. 

“I am thankful to all the former cricketers for reposing their faith in me. I will strive hard for their welfare and will ensure a close and strong relationship between former players and the BCCI,”said Vengsarkar (66), a 116 test cap holder, while talking to Cricbuzz. He also played on the team that won the World Cup in 1983. 

Dilip Vengsarkar
Dilip Vengsarkar[File photo]
Anshuman Gaekwad, who had served as the ICA delegate to the Apex Council for the previous three years, is replaced by Dilip Vengsarkar.

The Apex Council must contain representatives from both male and female cricketers, according to the BCCI constitution. Shubhangi Dattatraya Kulkarni, who took Shantha Rangasawamy’s place in the council—the BCCI’s supreme governing body—will serve as the women representative. 

Former India spinner Ojha (36), a current IPL Governing Council member, defeated Vijay Mohan Raj, a former Hyderabad batsman, by 162 votes (396-234). There are 1602 members of the ICA, a group of former cricketers. 

Pragyan Ojha
Pragyan Ojha (Image Credit: Twitter)

“I look forward to the new term with a lot of positives and add more value and do justice to the faith shown by our fraternity,” Ojha said.  

Important Positions of ICA

President & Director – Aunshuman Gaekwad  

Secretary & Director – Hitesh Majumdar  

Treasurer & Director – V Krishnaswamy  

Member Representative & Director – Shantha Rangasawamy  

Member Representative & Director – Yajurvindra Singh Bilkha  

ICA Male Representative to BCCI Apex Council – Dilip Balwant Vengsarkar  

ICA Female Representative to BCCI Apex Council – Shubhangi Dattatraya Kulkarni  

ICA Representative to IPL Governing Council – Pragyan Ojha 

Also Read: IND vs SA: ‘Suryakumar Yadav Has Taken Pressure Off Of Indian Top Order’: Gautam Gambhir