Monty Panesar Virat Kohli Rohit Sharma
Monty Panesar, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma. Image Credits: Twitter

Former English spinner Monty Panesar has opined on the split captaincy formula in team India. Notably, Virat Kohli is the skipper of the India National Cricket Team across formats currently. However, time and again, Virat has himself spoken up on the challenges of being in a bio-bubble for a long period of time and has vouched for separate teams playing separate formats.

This also opens up a spilt captaincy formula in the Indian Cricket Team which hasn’t been tried yet by the Indian management. Also, Virat Kohli’s poor captaincy record in ICC events has been a major setback for him. On the other hand, Rohit Sharma’s success with Mumbai Indians (MI) in the IPL and with the Indian team on multiple occasions is piling up the pressure for King Kohli to succeed as a captain.

Virat Kohli Rohit Sharma India
Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma. Image Credits: Twitter

Monty Panesar Opens Up On The Split Captaincy Model Between Virat Kohli And Rohit Sharma In Team India

With the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 just months away from its inception, there will be a lot of pressure on Virat’s shoulder to win his first ICC trophy as the captain of the Indian Cricket Team. Now, former English spinner Monty Panesar has shared his thoughts on the split captaincy model in team India.

Monty Panesar
Monty Panesar (Image Credit: Twitter)

“Split captaincy is really up to Virat Kohli. He enjoys being the captain for all forms of the game and I don’t think he would want to give up the captaincy. He likes the responsibility in the game and he likes to impose himself on the opposition. If you take the captaincy away from him in the T20 matches, he may just feel like a specialist batsman. Unless Virat himself wants to give up, I don’t see split captains for India,” said Monty Panesar.

Contrasting Captaincy Stints Of Rohit Sharma And Virat Kohli Have Had The Fans Buzzing

As a captain, Virat Kohli has failed to assert his stamp, especially in multi-team tournaments including the IPL and the ICC events. So far, he has led the Royal Challengers Bangalore franchise for 7 editions in the IPL, failing to win the title even once. He has also led team India in the 2017 Champions Trophy, the 2019 Cricket World Cup and the 2019-21 World Test Championship, all three of which haven’t been won by team India.

Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma
Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma. Image Credits: Twitter

Rohit Sharma, on the other hand, has had staggering captaincy stints in the IPL and with the Indian team. He has won 5 IPL titles as a captain since leading Mumbai Indians from 2013. He has also won the Asia Cup 2018 and the Nidahas Trophy 2018 as the captain of the Indian Cricket Team.


Priyam Singh

I Wake Up Watching Cricket And Go To Bed Watching Football. Everything In Between Includes Lawn Tennis, Wrestling, Basketball, Formula 1, And Badminton. I Write To Make A Living And I Manage To Make My...