Hanuma Vihari
Hanuma Vihari. Image Credits: Twitter

Seven Indian players will be participating in the ongoing Dhaka Premier League 2021-22 season. Hanuma Vihari, who recently played for India in a couple of Test matches against Sri Lanka, is amongst the seven players to play in Bangladesh’s List A tournament.

Vihari will head to his home in Hyderabad before travelling to Dhaka to join his team- Abahani Limited – later this week.

Hanuma Vihari to miss first three matches for Abahani Limited in Dhaka Premier League

Vihari will miss the first three games of the season for Abahani Limited and Afghanistan batter Najibullah Zadran has been signed for those three matches as a replacement for the Hyderabad batter.

Hanuma Vihari, ICC World Test Championship
Hanuma Vihari (Image Credit: Twitter)

Bengal cricket team’s First-Class skipper Abhimanyu Easwaran, who has been with the Indian Test side as a reserve player on an overseas tour, will play for Prime Bank.

Abhimanyu Easwaran
Abhimanyu Easwaran (Image Credit: BCCI)

Domestic players Parvez Rasool, Baba Aparjith to play in DPL

Parvez Rasool, Baba Aparajith, Chirag Jani, Ashok Menaria and Gurinder Singh are the other five players who will feature in the Dhaka Premier League 2021-22 season. Rasool, who has played one ODI and one T20I for India, will play for Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi.

Tamil Nadu batter Baba Aparajith will don the shirt for Rupganj Tigers while Menaria, who previously played for Rajasthan Royals in IPL, will play for Khelaghar. Jani will be part of the team Legends of Rupganj and Gurinder for Gazi Group Cricketers.

Only Jani and Gurinder will be playing the tournament for the first time whereas the other five players already have experience of playing the 50-over competition of Bangladesh. Dinesh Karthik, Yusuf Pathan and Manoj Tiwary are the other prominent Indian stars to have played in DPL in the past.

Former Pakistan all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez, who retired from international cricket earlier this year, will play for Mohammedan Sporting and Zimbabwe international Sikandar Raza will join Shinepukur.

DPL comprises 11 teams, where each team will play all 10 opponents in a round-robin format with the top six teams, in the points table, moves to the Super League. All the six teams play each other once more in the Super League.

Also Read: IND vs SL: Watch – Hanuma Vihari Grabs A Terrific Diving Catch To Dismiss Dhananjaya de Silva