Ian Bishop Names 2 Finalists If ICC WTC Had Taken Place In the 1980s; Picks A Winner

Ian Bishop Names 2 Finalists If ICC WTC Had Taken Place In the 1980s; Picks A Winner

ICC World Test Championship
Photo Credit: (Sky Sports)

The fourth day’s play in the ICC World Test Championship has been abandoned due to rain. There has already been enough time lost in this Test match and not enough time remaining for either India or New Zealand to enforce a win. The team of commentators are expecting the final to end on a draw with both teams sharing the trophy.

Meanwhile, in a video posted by ICC’s official Twitter handle, Ian Bishop revealed who he thinks would have won the ICC World Test Championship had it been played in the 80s.

Ian Bishop chose the West Indies to be the winners of the tournament if it would have held back then. He further said that Pakistan and West Indies would have qualified for the finals with the Windies becoming the eventual champions.

Ian Bishop Reveals ICC World Test Championship Winners From 1980s

He further said that the Windies did not lose a single Test series between the 1980-90s highlighting their domination in Test cricket at that point in time. He said that a record of such kind is unparalleled, which is why he chose the Caribbean team as the deserving winners.

Ian Bishop
Ian Bishop (Image Credit: Twitter)

Bishop made his international debut for the West Indies in 1989. Thus he saw an era of cricketers led by the great Clive Llyod just retire from the game. The likes Malcolm Marshal, Michael Holding were at the end of their careers when Bishop started. He played along with the likes of Curtley Ambrose and Courtney Walsh and formed a formidable pace trio in between 1990 to 1998-99.

He played 43 Tests and 84 ODIs for the Windies in the meantime taking 161 and 118 wickets respectively in the two formats.

Meanwhile, as far as the match situation of the World Test Championship is concerned, India scored 217 in their first innings. In response, the Kiwis scored 101/2 at stumps on day 3. They are still trailing by 116 runs in their first innings.

Ian Bishop Names 2 Finalists If ICC WTC Had Taken Place In the 1980s; Picks A Winner
Ajinkya Rahane and Virat Kohli. (Credits: Twitter)

India lost their last eight wickets for 71 runs to get bowled out from being 146/3 on day 2. Kyle Jamieson took five for 31, his fifth fifer in the WTC to limit India under 250.

Also Read: ICC WTC Final 2021: Sunil Gavaskar Urges ICC To Find A Formula To Decide A Clear Winner In Case Of A Rain Affected Draw

Anshuman Roy

A Cricket And Sports Enthusiast Having Previously Worked With Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint, Cricfit and Now With Cricket Addictor.