New Zealand Fast Bowlers Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Neil Wagner, Kyle Jamieson
New Zealand Fast Bowlers Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Neil Wagner, Kyle Jamieson. (Photo: Twitter)

Former Australian skipper and a renowned pundit of the game,  Ian Chappell, has lavished high praise on the New Zealand seam-bowling quartet following their match-winning performance against India in the recent World Test Championship final.

New Zealand seamers Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Kyle Jamieson, and Neil Wagner- were at their relentless best against Team India in the summit clash and they were instrumental in setting up the win for the BlackCaps after they dismissed India for a mere 170 in the second inning on the final day.

“New Zealand’s well-deserved win in the World Test Championship final highlighted an accepted adage in cricket: fast bowling rules,” Chappell said. “New Zealand’s pace quartet — Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Neil Wagner, and Kyle Jamieson — made possible their presence in the final. Then in the prolonged battle with India for supremacy, the quick bowlers led the last-day victory charge.” wrote Ian Chappell in his column for ESPNCricinfo.

Tim Southee, New Zealand
Trent Boult, Tim Southee and Neil Wagner [Image-Getty]
The former Aussie captain went to the extent of comparing New Zealand’s quartet with the legendary West Indian pace-battery of the 1980s.

Chappell further added that the New Zealand seam quartet has generated better results as a group as compared to their West Indian quarter of Andy Roberts, Malcolm Marshall, Michael Holding, and Joel Garner.

“Such was the influence of the New Zealand attack that there was even a comparison with the formidable West Indies quartets that ruled from the late-1970s to the mid-1990s.” wrote Chappell.

”To my mind, the best combination from those fearsome quartets was Andy Roberts, Malcolm Marshall, Michael Holding and Joel Garner. If it’s pace you’re talking about, the West Indies quartet wins hands down. However, if you look purely at results, the New Zealand four take the prize — five matches together for a 100% winning record. That West Indies combination only played together in six matches and while never beaten, they were held to three draws,” he said.

“New Zealand played four of those five matches at home and then the final at the Ageas Bowl, all favourable venues for swing and seam bowling. West Indies’ three draws were all affected by inclement weather in an era when time lost was exactly that.” he added.

New Zealand, Ian Chappell, Virat Kohli and Kyle Jamieson
Virat Kohli and Kyle Jamieson (Image Credit: Twitter)

Ian Chappell signed off by picking Kyle Jamieson, who claimed a five-for in India’s first innings besides claiming crucial scalps of Virat Kohli and Cheteshwar Pujara in the second innings- as the leader of the New Zealand attack purely because of his ridiculous numbers.

However, experience-wise, he picked Tim Southee as the leader of the attack.

“Statistically the leader of New Zealand’s group is undoubtedly Jamieson, with 28 wickets at the uncovered-pitches-average of 12.07 in these five Tests. However experience-wise, it’s swing bowler Southee who leads the way.” signed off Ian Chappell.

Also Read- India Have Joined The Ranks Of Pace-Bowling Proficient Teams: Ian Chappell

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.