ICC Announces Women's T20I Team Of The Decade

ICC Announces Women’s T20I Team Of The Decade

Shantha Rangaswamy, Harmanpreet Kaur, Australia, India, Women's T20 World Cup
Harmanpreet Kaur (Credits: Twitter)

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced its Women’s T20I team of the decade on Sunday (December 26) in the ICC Awards of the Decade. Women’s cricket has received a major boost in recent years- as proved by the 85,000-strong crowd present for the 2020 Women’s T20 World Cup final between India and Australia at the MCG.

Australian wicket-keeper opener, Alyssa Healy, who was also the Player of the Match in the World Cup final earlier in the year, and New Zealand’s opener, Sophie Devine have been picked as the openers in ICC’s team of the decade. Amongst openers, Healy is the second-highest run-scoring of the last 10 years and Devine has averaged 40 during this period at the top.

ICC, Women's T20 World Cup, Team of the Tournament, ICC, Australia,
Meg Lanning led Australia to ICC 2020 T20 World Cup(Source: Twitter)

New Zealand’s number three, Suzie Bates, occupies the third position in ICC’s team. The right-hander is the second-highest scorer of the gone by decennary. Australian skipper, Meg Lanning is named the captain of ICC’s T20I team of the decade. Lanning has led Australia to T20 titles in 2014, 2018, and 2020 and is also the leading run-scorer in the last 10 years.

Indian powerhouse, Harmanpreet Kaur is the backbone of the middle-order in ICC’s team. She is India’s leading run accumulator in T20Is in the last 10 years. Kaur also offers an off-spin bowling option.

West Indian all-rounder duo of Stafanie Taylor and Deandra Dottin storm into ICC’s XI. Taylor and Dottin are the third-highest and fourth-highest run-scorer respectively of the last 10 years, and both have picked wickets at an average of less than 17.

Ellyse Perry
Ellyse Perry. Credit: Getty Images

Renowned as the greatest Women’s player, Australian all-rounder Ellyse Perry is in both ICC’s ODI and T20I team of the decade. Perry averages 30 with the bat and 20 with the ball in T20Is during the eligibility period0; she is a multiple-time T20 World Cup winner.

Another Australian, Megan Schutt, and England’s Anya Shrubsole are the frontline pacer in ICC eleven. Amongst pacers, Schutt and Shrubsole are the top two leading wicket-takers in the last 10 years followed by Perry. India’s spin wizard, Poonam Yadav is the eleventh member in the team- the leg-spinner has snared most T20I wickets in the last decade.

ICC Women’s T20I XI of the decade:

Alyssa Healy(wk), Sophie Devine, Suzie Bates, Meg Lanning(C), Harmanpreet Kaur, Stafanie Taylor, Deandra Dottin, Ellyse Perry, Anya Shrubsole, Megan Schutt, Poonam Yadav

Also Read: Watch: Commentator Bursts Out In Laughter As Marnus Labuschagne Calls Nathan Lyon Bald Eagle