ICC Women's ODI Team of the Year 2023 Announced; Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana ignored

Updated - 23 Jan 2024, 05:31 PM

ICC Womens ODI Team of the Year 2023
ICC Womens ODI Team of the Year 2023 [PC: X]

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the Women’s ODI Team of the Year for 2023, which was dominated by the stars from the Australian side. Five Australian women cricketers secured a place in the ODI team, while no player from India was included.

Veteran Sri Lankan batter Chamari Athapaththu has been appointed as the captain of the Women’s ODI Team of the Year, featuring prominent players from teams around the world, such as Phoebe Litchfield, Ellyse Perry, Beth Mooney, Annabel Sutherland, and Ash Gardner.

Top order: Phoebe Litchfield, Chamari Athapaththu, and Ellyse Perry

Phoebe Litchfield scored 485 runs at an impressive average of 53.8, including a century and four fifties in ODIs during the year. The 20-year-old was the second-highest run-scorer in women’s ODIs in 2023. She clinched the Player of the Match title in four out of the 14 ODIs.

Chamari Athapaththu led the Sri Lanka team to a 1-0 series win over Bangladesh and guided them to their first-ever bilateral series win against New Zealand. The veteran batter scored 415 runs in eight ODIs with an impressive average of 69.16 and a scoring rate of over 125.

Ellyse Perry had a remarkable year in 2023, scoring five half-centuries in 10 ODI innings. She excelled as Australia’s highest run scorer in the Women’s Ashes in England, amassing 185 runs in three ODI innings. Perry registered consecutive fifties in the first two games.

Middle order: Amelia Kerr, Beth Mooney (wk), Nat Sciver-Brunt

Amelia Kerr, the highest run-scorer in women’s ODIs last year, is also in contention for the ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year. Kerr scored 541 runs at an impressive average of 67.62, including two centuries and three fifties. She contributed eight wickets in the format.

Beth Mooney started the year with a Player of the Series display against Pakistan, scoring 57* and 133. She continued her outstanding performance in the middle order in ODIs. The wicketkeeper batter ended the last year with 439 runs at an average over 60.

Nat Sciver-Brunt played a pivotal role in England’s historic ODI series win against Australia, their first since 2013. The all-rounder scored two centuries and took three wickets, earning her the Player of the Series award. She notched a brilliant 74-ball 120 against Sri Lanka.

Bowlers: Ash Gardner, Annabel Sutherland, Nadine de Klerk, Lea Tahuhu, Nahida Akter

The ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year boasts a formidable bowling attack comprising Ash Gardner and Annabel Sutherland from the Australia team, Nahida Akter from the Bangladesh team, Nadine de Klerk from South Africa, and Lea Tahuhu from New Zealand.

Ash Gardner claimed the title of leading wicket-taker in women’s ODIs in the previous year with an impressive tally of 24 wickets in 13 matches. Annabel Sutherland secured her spot in the team with valuable lower-order runs and took 13 wickets in as many games.

ICC Women’s ODI Team for 2023

Chamari Athapaththu (c), Phoebe Litchfield (Australia), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Beth Mooney (Australia), Ash Gardner (Australia), Annabel Sutherland (Australia), Amelia Kerr (New Zealand), Nat Sciver-Brunt (England), Nadine de Klerk (South Africa), Lea Tahuhu (New Zealand), and Nahida Akter (Bangladesh).

Also read: ICC ODI Team of the Year 2023: 6 Indian players named in the side, not even a single Pakistan player features


Ash Gardner Chamari Athapaththu Ellyse Perry ICC ICC Women's ODI Team of the Year 2023