Meg Lanning

Last Update on: February 25th, 2022 at 05:32 pm

Australia women team skipper Meg Lanning said the team won’t look back and start the ICC Women’s World Cup 2022 on a fresh note.

ICC Women’s World Cup, which was initially supposed to take place in 2021, but was pushed a year later owing to the COVID-19 pandemic. Each team will play seven matches in the league stage in the round-robin format with the top four teams qualifying for the semifinals of the marquee event.

India Women knocked out Australian women in 2017 Women’s World Cup

The six-time World Cup champions finished second on the points table in the round-robin format of the 2017 Women’s World Cup, however, they were knocked out by Mithali Raj-led India in the semi-final clash after Harmanpreet Kaur’s blitz with the bat.

Kaur remained unbeaten on 171 as India posted 281/4 after rain curtailed the match to 42 overs per side. Despite daunting efforts by Ellyse Villani (75) and Alex Blackwell (90), the Australians were bowled out at 245 in 40.1 overs. Nine of the 15 players were part of the previous edition of the World Cup.

India vs Australia Women
India vs Australia Women (Image Credit: Twitter)

This group that we’ve got here is very different to 2017: Meg Lanning

Lanning mentioned that after losing to India in the semi-final, the team has gone through new tactics and they will aim for the glory just like their opponents will do.

“This group that we’ve got here is very different to 2017. I think the majority of the players were not even involved in the tournament, and the majority of the staff also weren’t there. The impacts of the 2017 World Cup (loss) have obviously changed the way we play but, from now really moving forward, this World Cup is completely different,” Lanning said during a media interaction. 

Australia Women Cricket Team
Australia Women Cricket Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

“It’s a new World Cup, everybody starts on zero points and needs to play well throughout the tournament. It’s a great challenge for our group but, to be honest, we don’t really talk about 2017 anymore. It obviously had a big impact on us but now it’s a completely different group, and we’re on a new journey together,” she added.

Hosts New Zealand will kick off the event as they take on Stafanie Taylor-led West Indies on March 4 at the Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui. Australia will take on defending champions England on March 5 in Hamilton.

Also Read: ICC Women’s World Cup 2022: ICC To Allow Teams To Play With Nine Players Amid COVID-19 Scare