Kevin Pietersen, Harry Brook
Kevin Pietersen (Image Credit: Twitter)

Last Update on: August 20th, 2023 at 11:04 am

Former England cricketer Kevin Pietersen was shocked by Harry Brook’s ouster from England squad for ICC World Cup 2023. England revealed their squad for ICC World Cup 2023 a few days ago and emerging youngster Harry Brook was not part of it.

However, the deadline to submit the squad for ICC World Cup 2023 to ICC is September 28. Although Harry Brook is not part of the England squad for the World Cup, he is expected to be named as a reserve player later.

Also Read: ICC World Cup 2023: Harry Brook Opens Up On Exclusion From England’s ODI WC Squad, Says ‘I’m Trying Not To Think About It Anymore’

Absolutely Flabbergasted On Harry Brook’s Ouster: Kevin Pietersen

While speaking to Sky Sports, former England captain Kevin Pietersen said he was flabbergasted to know that Harry Brook was not part of England’s squad for ICC World Cup 2023.

“I’m absolutely flabbergasted that [Brook] cannot make England’s World Cup squad because he is pure quality. I just cannot believe it”,  the cricketer-turned-commentator said. 

Also Read: ICC World Cup 2023: Michael Atherton Opens Up On Harry Brook’s Exclusion From England’s WC Squad, Says He Is “Unlucky One”

Pietersen, who represented Englan from 2004 to 2014, also revealed how he identified Harry Brook as a superstar after watching him play for the first time.

“I saw this guy at Headingley two years ago when The Hundred took off and I immediately saw a superstar. I saw someone playing 360, who could hit the same balls over extra-cover or midwicket,” the 43-year-old further said. 

Meanwhile, England has named Jos Buttler as the skipper for ICC World Cup 2023. Below is the England squad for the tournament. Notably, Ben Stokes made a comeback to ODIs for ICC World Cup 2023, quashing his earlier retirement from the 50-over format.

Read More  Watch: Quinton de Kock Shocked As Heinrich Klaasen Bowls A Bizarre No Ball To Devon Conway During Warm-up Game

Also Read: ICC World Cup 2023: HCA Requests BCCI To Change Schedule As Hyderabad Police Can’t Provide Security On Two Consecutive Days

England Squad For ICC World Cup 2023

Jos Buttler (captain), Moeen Ali, Gus Atkinson, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Ben Stokes, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Reece Topley, David Willey, Mark Wood, Chris Woakes.

ICC World Cup 2023 begins on October 5 in India. England is the defending champion of the tournament. In the previous edition in 2019, England defeated New Zealand in the final. England will play the tournament opener against New Zealand on October 5.

Vikas Singh Derek

Cricket Crazy and Sports Enthusiast. Happy Go Lucky Person. Believes "The Way To Happiness is to be Happy On The Way.