ICC World Cup 2023: Sanjay Manjrekar Picks His India Squad For World Cup, Leaves Out Shreyas Iyer

Updated - 26 Jul 2023, 12:28 PM

Shreyas Iyer
Shreyas Iyer (Image Credits: Twitter)

Former Indian cricketer Sanjay Manjrekar named his Indian squad for the upcoming edition of the ODI World Cup, which is scheduled to be played at home later this year. Sanjay Manjrekar included veteran opener Shikhar Dhawan as the third opener in the 15-member squad.

The Indian team will kick off their preparation for the World Cup with a series against the West Indies. The Men in Blue will take on the Shai Hope-led team in a three-match ODI series, with the first match to be played at the Kensington Oval in Bridgetown on Thursday, July 27.

Also read: Malaysia’s Syazrul Idrus Becomes The First Bowler To Grab A Seven-Wicket Haul In The History Of Men’s T20I Cricket

Sanjay Manjrekar Picked His India’s Squad For World Cup

India will host the ODI World Cup 2023, which will be the first 50-over tournament entirely played in the country. The Rohit Sharma-led team will be under immense pressure as they are playing at home. Notably, the Men in Blue lifted under MS Dhoni’s captaincy at home in 2011.

Sanjay Manjrekar picked his squad for the marquee event, with Rohit Sharma leading the team. Manjrekar named Shubman Gill as Rohit Sharma’s partner. Surprisingly, he picked Shikhar Dhawan as the third opener, who is not part of the India squad for the upcoming ODI series.

Also read: ICC World Cup 2023: Saba Karim Highlights The Biggest Challenge For Selectors Ahead Of The Mega Tournament

Sanjay Manjrekar Included Kul-Chal In His Bowling Attack

The cricketer-turned-commentator included Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, and Sanju Samson in the middle order. KL Rahul is currently recovering from an injury and is expected to make his comeback in the Asia Cup 2023. Rahul is the first-choice wicketkeeper in the squad.

The 58-year-old included Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja as all-rounders in his squad. He named Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal as specialist spinners, along with Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, and Prasidh Krishna as specialist seamers in his team.

Also read: IND vs WI: “Tendulkar Had Faced As Many Balls” – Sanjay Manjrekar Feels West Indies Lacked Practice

Sanjay Manjrekar’s India World Cup Squad

Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Sanju Samson, Prasidh Krishna.


ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 ICC ODI World Cup 2023 India National Cricket Team Rohit Sharma Sanjay Manjrekar Shreyas Iyer