Malaysia's Syazrul Idrus Becomes The First Bowler To Grab A Seven-Wicket Haul In The History Of Men's T20I Cricket

Updated - 26 Jul 2023, 12:02 PM

Syazrul Idrus, China vs Malaysia
Syazrul Idrus (Image Credits: Twitter)

Malaysia pacer Syazrul Idrus created history during the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 Asia Regional Qualifier B tournament. Syazrul Idrus became the first bowler in international cricket to take a seven-wicket haul in a single game in the shorter format of the game.

Malaysia beat China by eight wickets in the series opener on Wednesday, July 26. The Malaysian bowlers bundled out the opposition for just 23 runs in 11.2 overs. Wei Guolei top-scored with seven runs, while none of the other batters crossed the five-run mark.

Also read: ICC World Cup 2023: Saba Karim Highlights The Biggest Challenge For Selectors Ahead Of The Mega Tournament

Syazrul Idrus Creates A World Cricket In T20I Cricket

Syazrul Idrus achieved the milestone during the opening match of the tournament against China at Bayuemas Oval. The right-arm pacer ran through China’s batting lineup, picking up seven wickets. The 32-year-old pacer conceded just eight runs in his four-over quota, including a maiden over.

Twelve bowlers have recorded six-wicket hauls in Men’s T20Is, but until now, no one had managed to take seven wickets in a single match. Among those who achieved six-wicket hauls are India’s Deepak Chahar and Yuzvendra Chahal, Australia’s Ashton Agar, and Sri Lanka’s Ajantha Mendis.

Also read: IND vs WI: Dinesh Karthik Raises Questions Over Ajinkya Rahane’s Place In The Squad Following Poor Performances Against West Indies

Malaysia Started On A High Note

In response, Malaysia chased down the target of 24 runs in five overs, completing the run chase with eight wickets to spare. The home team started the qualifying tournament on a high note, as they are hosting ahead of the T20 World Cup in the USA and West Indies next year.

The event serves as a crucial pathway for teams to secure their spots in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. The winner of the tournament will advance to the Asia Regional Final in Nepal in November. The top two teams will qualify for the prestigious 20-over showcase event in 2024.

Also read: Nida Dar To Lead The Pakistan Women’s Team As Pakistan Announces Squad For The Asian Games 2023


Malaysia National Cricket Team