IND vs AFG: Watch - Delhi Crowd Erupts With 'Kohli Kohli' Chants As Naveen-ul-Haq Comes To Bat In World Cup Game vs India

Updated - 11 Oct 2023, 09:13 PM

Naveen-ul-Haq, Virat Kohli

The Delhi crowd erupted with the chants of ‘Kohli Kohli’ as the 24-year-old Afghanistan National Cricket Team pacer Naveen-ul-Haq came out to bat in the 9th match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 on Wednesday, October 11, at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi.

The rivalry between the modern-day batting great Virat Kohli and Afghanistan pacer Naveen-ul-Haq started during the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023. The duo were engaged in a verbal spat during a match between Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Lucknow Super Giants (LSG).

Following the heated exchange, Naveen also took shots at Kohli with his Instagram stories, and since then he hasn’t been treated well by the crowds as whenever he steps out on the field he has to face the chants of ‘Kohli Kohli’.

The same thing happened when Naveen entered Virat Kohli’s home ground in Delhi. He came to bat after the dismissal of Rashid Khan in the 49th over and the crowd teased him with the ‘Kohli Kohli’ chants.

Watch: Delhi crowd chants ‘Kohli, Kohli’ as Naveen-ul-Haq comes to bat:

Looking at Naveen being teased by the crowd, former India head coach Ravi Shastri on-air said: “Naveen-ul-Haq comes out to bat, the whole Stadium shouting “Kohli, Kohli, Kohli”, I wonder why, No prize for guessing”.

Meanwhile, Naveen-ul-Haq finished with a score of 9 runs off 8 balls and he also hit one boundary during his innings. Batting first, Afghanistan posted 272/8 on the board thanks to the brilliant performances of Hashmatullah Shahidi and Azmatullah Omarzai.

For India, Jasprit Bumrah shined with the ball as he bagged 4 wickets in the match. He was well supported by Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, and Shardul Thakur, who also chipped in with wickets.

Afghanistan (Playing XI): Rahmanullah Gurbaz(w), Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi(c), Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Azmatullah Omarzai, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Naveen-ul-Haq, Fazalhaq Farooqi

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(w), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj


Afghanistan National Cricket Team ICC Cricket World Cup 2023z ICC World Cup 2023 IND vs AFG 2023 India National Cricket Team Naveen-ul-Haq Virat Kohli