IND vs IRE: Viacom18 Secures Live Telecast And Live Streaming Rights for India's Three Match T20 Series Against Ireland - Reports

Updated - 09 Aug 2023, 06:21 PM

Jasprit Bumrah
Jasprit Bumrah (Image Credits: Twitter)

A prominent Indian media broadcasting company, Viacom18, has secured the hosting rights for the upcoming three-match T20I series between India and Ireland. According to recent reports, Viacom18 will broadcast the India tour of Ireland 2023 on both television and OTT platforms.

As per SportsMint’s report, Viacom18 will provide live coverage through the popular OTT platform, JioCinema, and the TV network, Sports18, for viewers in the Indian subcontinent. This development allows cricket fans to experience the matches across digital and broadcasting channels.

Last year, the reputed broadcasting network Sony Sports was replaced by Star Sports as Cricket Australia’s official broadcaster. With this recent development, Sony Sports Networks will be unable to offer exclusive coverage of the upcoming shorter format series between India and Ireland.

India Set To Play Three-Match T20 Series Against Ireland

The Indian national cricket team is set to face the Irish national cricket team in a three-match series. The first match is scheduled to be played at the Village Stadium in Dublin on August 18. The remaining two games will also take place at the same venue on August 20 and 23, respectively.

The national selection committee has chosen a second-string squad for the upcoming series, resting the senior players. Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma will rejoin the squad for the Asia Cup 2023. The team management is expected to retain the core players for the multinational tournament.

Ace pacer Jasprit Bumrah, who has been sidelined since last September, will make his international cricket comeback during the Ireland series. The selectors haven’t provided updates on middle-order batters KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer, both of whom are recovering from injuries at the NCA.

Yuzvendra Chahal and Sanju Samson have been included in the squad despite being part of the selectors’ plans for the World Cup. Fast bowler Prasidh Krishna is also part of the 15-member squad. Krishna’s last appearance for the Men in Blue was against Zimbabwe in August of last year.

India’s Squad For Ireland Tour

Jasprit Bumrah (Capt), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vc), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Shivam Dube, W Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Prasidh Krishna, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan.

Also read: ICC World Cup 2023: New Zealand Coach Confirms Kane Williamson’s Selection Despite Missing A Few Matches


IND vs IRE 2023 India National Cricket Team India tour of Ireland 2023 India vs Ireland 2023 Jasprit Bumrah