IND vs SL: Bhanuka Rajapaksa Dropped For India T20Is Based On Fitness Concerns- Reports

Updated - 21 Feb 2022, 11:23 PM

Bhanuka Rajapaksa
Bhanuka Rajapaksa. (Photo: Twitter)

Sri Lanka batter Bhanuka Rajapaksa was dropped from the T20I squad for the upcoming India tour.

According to a report by ESPNCricinfo, Rajapaksa’s weight and fitness had long been concerns, his performances in the middle order had largely been good, even if his fielding was sometimes poor.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa took a reverse decision on international retirement

Rajapaksa, who had initially announced his retirement from international cricket in January, had reversed his decision after he was convinced by the country’s Sports Minister.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Sri Lanka vs India
Bhanuka Rajapaksa (Image Credit: Twitter)

Rajapaksa played his last T20I match against West Indies in November 2021 in Abu Dhabi. The left-handed batter has scored 320 runs from 15 innings.

Wanindu Hasaranaga, Dinesh Chandimal in for India T20Is

Dhanushka Gunathillaka and Dinesh Chandimal, who were left out of the final matches against Australia, have been included in the 18-member squad announced by SLC on Monday.

Wanindu Hasaranga and Binura Fernando, who had both tested positive for Covid-19, will be available for this series after both players served their isolation period of seven days. All-rounder Dhananjay de Silva continues to remain on paternity leave.

Wanindu Hasaranga
Wanindu Hasaranga. (Photo: Twitter)

Off-spinner Ashian Daniel could make his international debut after being selected based on his impressive List A performance.

Sri Lanka are coming from a 4-1 T20I series defeat to Australia in Down Under. They will be led by Dasun Shanaka in the upcoming three-match T20I series against India starting on February 24 in Lucknow.

Sri Lanka squad: Dasun Shanaka (capt), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Dinesh Chandimal, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kamil Mishara, Janith Liyanage, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama, Ashian Daniel

Also Read: IND vs SL: Deepak Chahar Doubtful For Sri Lanka Series After Sustaining Hamstring Pull During 3rd T20I vs West Indies


Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Sri Lanka national cricket team