IND vs USA: "Minnow-basher Suryakumar Yadav" - Twitter reacts as India beat USA by 7 wickets to qualify for Super 8

Published - 12 Jun 2024, 11:53 PM | Updated - 13 Jun 2024, 12:26 AM


Fans on Twitter reacted after India booked their berth in the Super 8 stage of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. They defeated the United States of America (USA) by seven wickets in a group A clash at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York. 

Asked to bat, the USA were off to the worst possible start as Arshdeep Singh removed opener Shayan Jahangir on the first ball of the game and then on the last ball sent Andries Gous. The hosts lost two wickets upfront and were under pressure. 

With two wickets in the first over, Steven Taylor (11) and skipper Aaron Jones tried to bail the team out of trouble but couldn’t as they too lost their wickets after having started under their belt at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York. 

The USA was left tottering at 56 for four. But after that vital contributions from Nitish Kumar (27), Corey Anderson (15), Harmeet Singh (10) and Shadley van Schalkwyk (11*) took hosts to a fighting total. They ended with a total of 110 for eight, for India, Arshdeep Singh picked four wickets. 

India had a forgettable start to their innings as they first lost Virat Kohli for a golden duck and then Rohit Sharma for three. Keeper-batter Rishabh Pant (18) looked in good touch but fell early as India was left reeling at 39 for three. 

But after that, Suryakumar Yadav (50*) and Shivam Dube (31*) joined hands and made sure that they took their team home. The Yadav-Dube duo added an unbeaten 72 runs for the fourth wicket as India chased the target with seven wickets in hand. 

Fans on Twitter react as India beats USA by 7 wickets to book their berth for Super 8 stage 

As India defeated the USA by 7 wickets in the T20 World Cup 2024, to book their berth for the Super 8 stage, fans on Twitter reacted to it. They lauded the Rohit Sharma side for their sensational effort with the bat and gave some joyful reactions. Here are some of them: 


India National Cricket Team USA National Cricket Team ICC T20 World Cup