India U19 Skipper Yash Dhull Included In Delhi's Ranji Trophy Squad

Published - 10 Feb 2022, 11:53 AM | Updated - 10 Feb 2022, 12:06 PM

Yash Dhull
Yash Dhull. Credits: ICC

India U19 World Cup-winning skipper Yash Dhull was added to Delhi’s Ranji Trophy squad on Wednesday. Dhull led the India U19 side to its fifth World Cup title after defeating England U19 by four wickets in the final.

Dhull amassed 229 from four matches at an average of 76.33, he scored a match-winning 110 against Australia U19 in the semi-final. He stitched 204 runs with his deputy Shaik Rasheed for the third wicket as India thumped Australia by 96 runs.

Yash Dhull to join Delhi team in Guwahati

Dhull joined the likes of Mohammad Kaif, Virat Kohli, Unmkut Chand and Prithvi Shaw to win the U19 World Cup for India as their captain.

Yash Dhull
India U19 skipper Yash Dhull lifting the ICC U19 World Cup.

His confidence is high and even though he hasn’t played a lot of red-ball matches, we want him to get a taste of first-class cricket,” a DDCA selector told news agency PTI.

Dhull returned to India from the Caribbean on Tuesday (February 8) with the entire team and will make a brief visit to his hometown Delhi before he joins the Delhi squad in Guwahati later on Thursday. The 19-year-old will undergo a five-day quarantine period with the state team in the capital city of Assam.

Ishant Sharma unavailable for selection in Ranji Trophy 2022

According to a report by news agency PTI, veteran pace bowler Ishant Sharma has made himself unavailable for selection. Ishant, who was benched for the entire Test series in South Africa, has told DDCA president Rohan Jaitley about his decision to not participate in the red-ball tournament.

Ishant Sharma
Ishant Sharma (Image Credit: Twitter)

Left-arm pace bowler Pradeep Sangwan will lead Delhi in the Ranji Trophy 2022 season and the likes of Nitish Rana and Navdeep Saini will play for the state team.

Delhi Ranji Trophy Squad: Pradeep Sangwan (c), Nitish Rana, Dhruv Shorey, Priyansh Arya, Yash Dhull, Khsitij Sharma, Jonty Sidhu, Himmat Singh, Lalit Yadav, Anuj Rawat Wk, Lakshay Thareja (wk), Navdeep Saini, Simarjit Singh, Mayank Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Vikas Mishra, Shivang Vashist, Shivam Sharma.

Also Read: Speaking To Virat Kohli Benefitted Me A Lot, Says India U19 Captain Yash Dhull