IPL 2021: Revealed! This Is How Fair Play Points Are Calculated In Indian Premier League

In a cricket match, victory is the biggest aim for both the opposition teams. However, there is something else that is considered even greater than a victory in cricket- Fair Play. Cricket has always been called the ‘The Gentlemen’s Game’, and ethics and fair play in cricket is something that has a high value.

Keeping this in mind, BCCI has incorporated the IPL Fair Play Award since the very first edition of the Indian Premier League in 2008. In every season of IPL, one team gets this award after the end of the tournament.

The team which gets maximum fair play points becomes the ultimate winner of the IPL Fair Play Award. In IPL 2021 too, the Fair Play Award is part of the tournament and the one team will be adorned with this award at the end of the tournament.

Although Fair Play Award is quite a known term for IPL fans, many of us are not aware of how fair play points are actually calculated in the Indian Premier League. Below are details of how fair play awards are allocated to each team during every game.

Mumbai Indians win Fair Play Award in IPL 2020
Mumbai Indians win Fair Play Award in IPL 2020 (Image Credit: Twitter)

Here’s How Fair Play Points are Calculated in IPL

Each team can earn a total of 10 fair play points in a match. The teams are allotted these points by two on-field umpires and the third umpire. Fair Play points are awarded on the following basis.

  • 4 points are allocated for playing with the right spirit of the game.
  • 2 points are allocated for showing respect towards the opposition.
  • 2 points for respecting the laws of the game.
  • 2 points for respect towards the umpires.
Chennai Super Kings
Chennai Super Kings (Image Credit: Twitter)

Chennai Super Kings have bagged the Fair Play Awards for maximum times in the Indian Premier League. The MS Dhoni-led side has won the award six times. They are followed by Mumbai Indians and Sunrisers Hyderabad, who have won the award two times each. In IPL 2020. Mumbai Indians won the Fair Play Award. Below is the list of winners of the IPL Fair Pay Award of every season.

IPL 2008: Chennai Super Kings

IPL 2009: Kings XI Punjab (Now Punjab Kings)

IPL 2010: Chennai Super Kings

IPL 2011: Chennai Super Kings

IPL 2012: Rajasthan Royals

IPL 2013: Chennai Super Kings

IPL 2014: Chennai Super Kings

IPL 2015: Chennai Super Kings

IPL 2016: Sunrisers Hyderabad

IPL 2017: Gujarat Lions

IPL 2018: Mumbai Indians

IPL 2019: Sunrisers Hyderabad

IPL 2020: Mumbai Indians

Vikas Singh Derek

Cricket Crazy and Sports Enthusiast. Happy Go Lucky Person. Believes "The Way To Happiness is to be Happy On The Way.