Indian Premier League (IPL) Trophy, IPL 2024
Indian Premier League Trophy Image: X

The much-awaited 17th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2024) is set to be played from March 22 to May 26, according to reports. The BCCI is yet to announce the schedule of the tournament as this year’s general elections have made things a bit trickier for them. In 2009, the tournament was played completely outside India due to the elections while in 2014, a part of the tournament was played outside the country.

However, in 2019, the BCCI managed to conduct the competition in the country even though the general elections were going on and the upcoming IPL season is also set to take place in India. However, the schedule is yet to be announced for the tournament.

Also Read: BBL Live Streaming In India Channel- When And Where To Watch Big Bash League Live? Challenger Match, 2024

IPL 2024 to start on March 22:

According to Cricbuzz, IPL 2024 is set to begin on March 22, five days after the second edition of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) ends. The final of IPL 2024 is scheduled to take place on May 26, just five days before the start of the ICC T20 World Cup in the West Indies and the United States of America.

Read More  Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer dropped as BCCI announces central contract list for 2023-24

While Team India will be opening their campaign on June 5, the overseas players could skip the last few games of the tournament to join their teams and prepare for the World Cup. The BCCI has received assurances from most cricket boards that their players will be available until the final. However, some players can still leave to prepare for the T20 World Cup.

The report stated that the BCCI recently held discussions about the schedule with its stakeholders. The board proposed the window of February 22 to March 17 for WPL 2024 and March 22 to May 26 for IPL 2024. The schedule is likely to be announced officially within a couple of days.

The report also stated that the confirmation of the schedule can only be made after the election dates are announced. However, the BCCI is confident about hosting the entire competition in the country. A total of ten teams will be participating in IPL 2024. Chennai Super Kings are the defending champions and are likely to remain in action on the opening day. The final will also take place in Chennai.

Also Read: 10 runs for a long six? AB de Villiers opens up on Kevin Pietersen’s rule change advice

Read More  Sunil Gavaskar denies accepting Rishabh Pant as Delhi Capitals' captain despite the franchise naming him

Prince Singh is an Author and Editor at Cricketaddictor. Prince has been associated with the organisation for more than 5 years and in this time period, he has written close to 20000 articles for the website.