Deccan Chargers, IPL 2009 Winners
Deccan Chargers (Image Credit: Twitter)
Prev1 of 3

Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore will play the first match of IPL 2021 against each other. The match will be played at MA Chidambaram Stadium on April 9, 2021. Mumbai Indians are the defending champions while Royal Challengers Bangalore eye their first IPL trophy. Royal Challengers Bangalore have been close to victory on three occasions when they reached the finals. However, they lost all three finals and failed to lift to the trophy.

Royal Challengers Bangalore reached the finals for the first time in IPL 2009. IPL 2009 was a complete turn-around than the IPL 2008 edition. The teams which ended on the last two spots in the points table in IPL 2008 reached the finals in IPL 2009.

Royal Challengers Bangalore and Deccan Chargers were the teams that entered the finals in IPL 2009. Deccan Chargers were the winners in IPL 2009 after they defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore by 6 runs in the final. Here we look at the 3 most exciting matches of IPL 2009.

IPL History: 3 Most Exciting Matches Of IPL 2009

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajasthan Royals (Newlands, Cape Town)

Yusuf Pathan
Yusuf Pathan (Image Credit: Twitter)

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajasthan Royals match in IPL 2009 was the first match of the tournament that ended in a tie. Rajasthan Royals scored 150-6 batting first with the help of Yusuf Pathan’s 42 runs. KKR bowlers Anureet Singh, Ajantha Mendis, and Ishant Sharma grabbed 2 wickets each.  Batting 2nd, Sourav Ganguly scored 46 runs and Chris Gayle made 41 runs. The match ended in a tie after Kolkata Knight Riders also made 150 in 20 overs.

In the super over, KKR batsmen Chris Gayle and Brendon McCullum arrived on the crease. They managed to score 15 runs from 6 balls of Kamran Akmal. In response, Rajasthan Royals’ Yusuf Pathan stole the show with his incredible batting. Pathan hit sixes on the 1st and the 3rd ball of Ajantha Mendis. Rajasthan Royals needed just 2 runs off the final three balls, and Pathan smashed a boundary on the 4th ball to snatch a victory for Rajasthan Royals.

Prev1 of 3