Ireland Names 14-Man Squad For The T20I Series Against New Zealand

Updated - 05 Jul 2022, 12:38 PM

Ireland team, ICC T20 World Cup 2024
Ireland team (Credits: Getty)

Ireland has named an unchanged 14-man squad for the T20I series against New Zealand, keeping their 14-man squad for the upcoming Twenty20 series against the Black Caps.

In a recent two-match T20I series, the Irish cricket squad faced off against the Indian cricket side. They did not fight much in the first game, but they battled in the second.

Ireland Cricket Team
Ireland Cricket Team

The three-match ODI series will be followed by the three-match T20I series when they square off against the New Zealand cricket side. In Dublin’s The Village, the first ODI of the three will begin.

However, Belfast’s Civil Service Cricket Club will host the opening of all three T20Is. With the ODI series set to begin on July 10, Sunday, the white-ball tour gets underway.

Ireland (Image Credits: Twitter)
Ireland (Image Credits: Twitter)

Starting on July 12 and July 15, respectively, are the second and third ODIs. However, the first Twenty20 International will start on Monday, July 18.

Beginning on July 20 and July 22, respectively, are the second and third T20I. The unchanged 14-man roster for the T20I series against New Zealand has been confirmed by Ireland Cricket.

‘Ireland board is backing the players’: Andrew White

The Irish players are anticipating posing a significant danger to the New Zealanders in the next assignment. The board is backing the players who recently did well against India, according to Ireland’s chair of selectors Andrew White.

Andrew Balbirnie PC
Andrew Balbirnie Photo Credit: (Getty Images)

Additionally, he anticipates the team to perform well against New Zealand. Further, Andrew White emphasized Ireland’s entertaining performance against India in the second T20I. Ireland, however, was unable to cross the finish line.

“The selectors will support the players who did well against India. The team met the standards we set for them, and we hope they can perform just as well against New Zealand.”

The New Zealand cricket team will not have any regular cricketers in their lineup. The Kiwis will field some new faces by giving them opportunities to prove their worth.

Ireland squad for the T20I series against New Zealand

Andrew Balbirnie (captain), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Conor Olphert, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young.

Also Read: IND vs ENG: Jasprit Bumrah Becomes 6th Indian To Bag 100 Test Wickets In SENA, Joins Kapil Dev, Anil Kumble In Elite List


Andrew Balbirnie Ireland National Cricket Team New Zealand national cricket team