Jade Dernbach

Jade Dernbach has been added to Italy’s squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup Europe qualifiers. He plied his trade for England for a period of three years, 2011-2014, before going out of favour with the selectors.

He has been playing for Surrey County Cricket Club but will now be participating in the ICC qualifiers next month for the Italian squad. The 35-year-old hasn’t been able to crack into the playing XI that often for Surrey either, and so has decided to leave at the end of the season.

Dernbach qualifies to play for the European country through his mother. Head coach and captain of Italy, Gareth Berg requested Dernbach to play for their side as the pacer. The process will be smooth considering he already has a passport for Italy.

Jade Dernbach
(Image: Twitter)

Dernbach played 24 ODIs and 34 T20Is for England in the short three-year period. He picked up 31 wickets in the 50-over format at a high economy rate of 6.36. Dernbach also had 39 wickets in T20Is at an even higher economy of 8.72.

Another country cricket player, Grant Stewart, has also been called up to the side. He has his origins in Australia but moved to England. Stewart also played for Kent, who were the eventual champions, in the recently concluded T20 Blast.

Berg also has his friend and teammate, Owais Shah, for support as he has joined the team as an assistant coach. They played together at Middlesex and Hampshire and will now be involved with the Italian team.

Owais Shah
Owais Shah (Image: Twitter)

Italy is all set to play in October’s qualifiers after attaining a high ranking in T20Is. The qualifiers are part of the road to the T20 World Cup 2022. They will face Jersey, Germany, and Denmark from October 15-21 in Spain. The top two teams from the group will be progressing to the global qualifiers sometime in 2022.

Italy squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier

Gareth Berg (captain/head coach), Jade Dernbach, Madupa Fernando, Jamie Grassi, Grant Stewart, Darren Low, Dinidu Marage, Gian-Piero Meade, Joy Perera, Amir Sharif, Baljith Singh, Jaspreet Singh, Manpreet Singh, Nikolai Smith.

Also Read – IPL 2021: Net Run Rate Will Drown RCB If They Are Stuck With Someone On 14 Points: Aakash Chopra