Kane Williamson Becomes First New Zealand Batter To Smash Century In Four Consecutive Tests

Updated - 29 Nov 2023, 05:50 PM

Kane Williamson, New Zealand
Kane Williamson (Image Credits: Twitter)

Former New Zealand Test skipper Kane Williamson reached significant milestones in the ongoing Test match against Bangladesh. Kane Williamson demonstrated his brilliant batting performance and achieved his 29th century in red-ball cricket during the series opener.

Kane Williamson equaled Virat Kohli’s (29) century tally in Sylhet on Wednesday, November 29. The right-handed batter held one end intact while wickets fell from the other. He scored 104 runs off 205 deliveries, including 11 boundaries, before being dismissed on Day 2.

Kane Williamson Achieves Massive Milestone On Day 2

Kane Williamson rescued New Zealand following the early dismissals of both openers on Day 2 of the match. Kane formed crucial partnerships with Daryl Mitchell and Glenn Phillips. He achieved his century in 189 deliveries, marking his fourth successive Test century.

The 33-year-old became the first New Zealand player to score a century in four consecutive Tests. He also became the second Kiwi player to score a century in three consecutive innings. His previous centuries came against England and Sri Lanka earlier in the year.

Williamson notched up his 11th Test century away from home. With over 3,200 runs away from home and an average of over 44, he has consistently delivered strong performances. The batter scored 12 fifties in away Test matches, contributing to his overall away record.

At the close of Day 2 play, the Tim Southee-led team reached a score of 268/8 in 84 overs, trailing Bangladesh’s first-innings total of 310 runs by 44 runs. The ongoing Test match marks the New Zealand team’s first appearance in the World Test Championship 2025 cycle.

Bangladesh vs New Zealand Playing XI

Bangladesh: Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Zakir Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto(c), Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shahadat Hossain, Nurul Hasan(w), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Naeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Shoriful Islam

New Zealand: Devon Conway, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson, Henry Nicholls, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Blundell(w), Glenn Phillips, Kyle Jamieson, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee(c), Ajaz Patel

Also read: GT Picking Shubman Gill As Captain Over Kane Williamson Was Wrong Call? AB de Villiers Reacts


Kane Williamson New Zealand national cricket team