Kevin Pietersen To Lead England Legends In The Road Safety World Series 2020-21

Kevin Pietersen To Lead England Legends In The Road Safety World Series 2020-21

Kevin Pietersen
Kevin Pietersen. Image-Twitter.

Former England captain, Kevin Pietersen will be seen once again on the field as he will lead the England Legends team in the Road Safety World Series Tournament 2020-21.

The tournament which comprises former legends of the game will resume on March 5th – last year the competition was postponed after 4 matches due to the lockdown because of covid-19.

Now, with lesser travel restrictions and overseas players allowed to enter the country, the tournament will once again resume on March 5th, but instead of Mumbai, which hosted the games last year, the newly-built Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium in Raipur will see the matches played out in presence of spectators.

Kevin Pietersen To Lead England Legends In The Road Safety World Series 2020-21
Road Safety World Series 2020. Image-Twitter.

Last year 5 teams participated – India Legends, Sri Lanka Legends, Australia Legends, South Africa Legends, and West Indies Legends.  However, this time Brett Lee’s Australia won’t be a part of the tournament this year and are been replaced with Bangladesh Legends and England Legends.

Kevin Pietersen to lead England Legends

Kevin Pietersen, who last played for England in January 2014 will captain his side in the T20 tournament. Along with Pietersen, will be former stars, Owais Shah, Monty Panesar, Matthew Hoggard, Johnathan Trott, Ryan Sidebottom. The Bangladesh Legends include Nafees Iqbal, Abdur Razzaq, and Mohd Rafique amongst others.

Kevin Pietersen
Kevin Pietersen . Image-ICC

The group matches will be played till March 16th followed by the semi-finals on  17th and 18th and the final on March 21st, Sunday. Led by legendary batsman Sachin Tendulkar, India won its first two games and will resume its position at the top of the table.

The Road Safety World Series tournament is an initiative by the Road Safety Cell of Maharashtra in association with the Professional Management Group (PMG) to raise awareness about road safety. Former India captain and another legendary batsman, Sunil Gavaskar is the commissioner of this series, and Sachin Tendulkar is the brand ambassador.

England Legends: Kevin Pietersen, Owais Shah, Philip Mustard, Monty Panesar, Nick Crompton, Kabir Al, Sajid Mahmood, James Tredwell, Chris Schofield, Jonathan Trott, Ryan Sidebottom, Usman Afzaal, Matthew Hoggard, James Tindall.

Bangladesh Legends: Khaled Mahmud, Nafees Iqbal, Mohd Rafique, Abdur Razzaq, Khalid Mashud, Hanan Sarkar, Javed Omar, Rajin Saleh, Mehrab Hossain, Aftab Ahmed, Alamgir Kabir. MD.Sharif Mushfiqur Rahman, Mamoon Rashid.

India Legends: Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Mohammed Kaif, Yusuf Pathan, Naman Ojha, Zaheer Khan, Pragyan Ojha, Noel David, Munaf Patel, Irfan Pathan, Manpreet Gony.

Also Read: Chris Morris Opens Up About His Return To South Africa